A Halloween Visitor at the Assisted Living Facility


Today my son and grandson were there too when I visited dad at his Assisted Living Facility.  The resident always enjoy seeing little Georgie on his weekly visits.  Today was extra-special for them all too because today Georgie wore his Halloween costume.

Like all children, Georgie loves Halloween and the opportunity to dress up as his favorite character.  The elderly miss having children around and all wanted to say hello to Georgie.

Often my grandson is a bit shy upon arriving in the lounge where many residents tend to congregate.  I wanted to take his picture with his great-grandfather, but he refused until the last 5 minutes of his visit.

After awhile, Georgie decided he wanted to take a walk with his daddy all around the square which encompasses the typical Assisted Living Facility.  He ran as fast as he could on the first circle of the facility and then walked a bit slower on the second circle.

One of the aides told Georgie that some residents wanted him to come to their rooms for “Trick or Treat”.  He was psyched up for that and went around a third time, stopping along the way to visit with some of the residents.

By the time he got back to the lounge, Georgie had a handful of treats.  Residents had given him some candy and packages of snacks.  He decided he would eat some of his snacks in the car as soon as they went on their way.

It seems to me that most elderly residents would enjoy a visit from children dressed up for the holiday.   This is something they miss out on by living in a congregate living facility.  I have been told that they will have their own costume party on Halloween afternoon and I am sure they will enjoy dressing up too.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and the primary caregiver for my father. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with others who are also trying to care for a family member and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues around the care of my father and the relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Assisted Living Facility, Elder Care, Eldercare, Family, great-grandson and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Halloween Visitor at the Assisted Living Facility

  1. Terry says:

    that is just so precious!!!!! I am glad you shared this moment with me

Leave a Reply

