Young Children and the Elderly: Assisted Living Facility Visits


Every Sunday little George goes with his dad to visit his great-grandfather at his Assisted Living Facility.  Sometimes great-grandpa is in the lounge area with many other elderly people.  This is what he loves the best.  There are many elderly women and some staff members who think that little George is just “the cutest thing”.  He is 2 years old and repeats what they say.  If Cheryl says: “George, go say hi to Joe over there!”, then little George will run over and grin and say: “Hi!”.

Then the other older women talk to him and he runs from one to the other.  He just basks in the attention he gets from all his friends in the Assisted Living Facility.  The elderly residents also enjoy the visits from George.  They would otherwise be just sitting there waiting for time to pass before lunch.

Great grandpa (GG) loves to see George too.  But GG isn’t very talkative.  He will answer questions if asked, but he doesn’t partake in much conversation.  If GG is in his own room instead of the lounge, little George becomes bored in about 30 minutes.  He gets excited when grandma gets there and chatters at her for a few minutes.  But soon he wants to go home.  George likes it best when all his friends are paying attention to him.  He knows many of their names and told Grandma who he was going to see on Sunday.  This week, however, GG was in his room, so George didn’t get a chance to flirt with all his older women friends.  Maybe next week he will.

When I was in the south for my vacation, dad was visited weekly by my son and grandson.  Often when I called him he told he how he loved to see “that little guy”.  My son is glad to have his son get to know his grandfather.  We wonder if dad will live long enough so that little George retains memories of this great-grandfather.  I hope so as it is a special relationship.

Dad’s 3-year-old great-granddaughter also visited several times when the ALF had family activities for holidays.  She also enjoyed spending time in the lounge with the entertainment and the other residents more than being confined to his room.

I really believe it is beneficial for both the young child and the elderly residents to have regular visits like this.  My other, older, grandchildren have visited dad also, but not so regularly because of their busy schedules and some live quite a distance away.  George has no reservations about being among elderly people and I know they love to have children around.  I really encourage others to bring children and grandchildren to visit residents in Assisted Living facilities.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Assisted Living Facility, Elder Care, Eldercare, Family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Young Children and the Elderly: Assisted Living Facility Visits

  1. Teresa Cleveland Wendel says:

    When I was a kid, my mom always took us to visit the aged and infirm. Good memories for me.

  2. It is nice that you remember. I hope my grandson remembers also.

  3. frangipani says:

    Little George is performing such a great service each time he visits. If you have pictures or a video, it will let him “remember” someday. My mom loves young visitors too – but only one or two at a time. If there are too many, she will start to discipline them!

    • Thanks, frangipani, Dad also gets nervous from too many children. When my whole family is together, we bring the children to his room in groups of 4 or less and the rest wait in the lounge. Dad likes to see them though he can’t remember all their names. I also want the children to remember dad.

Leave a Reply

