Reblog from Baby Boomers and More


This is an inspirational story that might give those of us with family members with Alzheimer’s or other dementias some ideas. My dad won’t watch television, but he does enjoy listening to his tapes.

I encourage you to click on the link in the original story and watch and listen to the video about a man with dementia who only comes “alive” when listening to music and shortly afterwards. I thank Irene in Redmond, Washington who writes this blog.

Living: the ultimate team sport

Alzheimer’s and other dementia don’t hold a candle to the positive effect music has on its victims.  The attached video, a brief portion from the documentary, Alive Inside, is entitled: “Music and Memory, an old man’s reaction to hearing ‘his’ music.”  It illustrates so beautifully how music can unlock the brain that is addled by memory loss resultant from injury or disease.

I hope Henry’s story, and his dramatic transformation,  encourage you.

View original post

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Dementia, Eldercare. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

