Update and Follow-Up


OK, I admit I have been overwhelmed and left behind the past few days.  I haven’t even read most of my usual blogs though they are still in the reader.  I hope to catch up on a lot over the weekend – um – maybe.

First, I want to thank FundaMental for nominating me for the Sunshine Award for the second time.   She writes the Dementia Diaries  about her Father-in Law’s Dementia.  I know this is an honor that shows how much the community of caregivers depend on each other.  Frangipani Singaporenicium also nominated me for this award in early April.

I will just write a little about my week and hope to write more over the weekend.  When I visited dad Tuesday he asked if I would take him to the thrift store to buy a television.  I reminded him that he had a television and it was at my house now.  I told him he never watched it and when he was in the nursing home last fall I had brought it home.  I was preparing to move all his belongings to the nursing home when I learned he would be able to move back into his assisted living apartment.  I decided to leave many things at my house as I just didn’t have the energy to move everything by myself and I didn’t know if he would have to go back into the nursing home or not.

Anyway, I told him I would bring in the television and I had to call the cable company to hook up the cable again.  The cable man came on Wednesday so I was back with dad and brought his television with me.  I had a 4 hour window to wait but luckily the cable guy was there after less than an hour.  It turned out that the television could only go in the bedroom as it didn’t fit in the living room where the connection was.  The furniture was unstable and too small (width) on top. 

Thursday when I visited dad I brought in the remote which I had forgotten on Wednesday.  I showed him how to work it.  I asked if he wanted me to get him a small flat screen television for the living room (as I could have the maintenance man just hang it from the wall) and he said yes.  Today I bought the television and brought it in.  The maintenance man was hesitant to attach it to the wall with the bracket I purchased.  (they don’t like holes in the walls!)  Instead he added screws to make the furniture more secure and then drilled holes to attach the television stand to the furniture (it was old and I said it was OK to do that).  Dad was at lunch when I left so I will see how he likes it tomorrow. 

I had activities with my friends this afternoon that I didn’t want to miss.  Later some of us went for a walk in the woods which was nice too as we had an unusually warm day.  Tomorrow will be cold so that was my last chance.

Now I am totally tired but glad I have dad’s room set up with the television.  I still don’t know if he will watch it as he didn’t watch last year the whole ten months it was there.  But it would show some progress in his awareness I think if he does watch, so I am hopeful.  I do think dad is more alert and active in recent months than he had been for awhile.  He may be getting older but his Alzheimer’s seems to be stable for now and I am encouraged.

I had promised myself I would not see dad every day after my return from vacation.  Going every day last fall and winter totally wore me out.  Also I think being away for awhile helped dad become more independent.  He left his room more and talked more with the staff though he doesn’t interact much with the other residents.  This week it turned out I did visit almost every day as I will go in over the weekend as well.  But on Monday I plan to stay home and go back to my 4 day visit schedule.  We will see how it works out in reality!

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Awards, Caregiving, Elder Care, Eldercare and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

