Beautiful Blogger Award and Versatile Blogger Award


Today I want to thank Terry Shepherd of Terry1954  for nominating me for the Beautiful Blogger Award and the Versatile Blogger Award.  Terry is the caregiver for her brother who has Parkinson’s disease.  She writes a compelling blog that has many followers. 

It is an honor to receive these awards and I am pleased with the opportunity to pass them along to other deserving bloggers.

The rules for these awards are similar:

1. Thank the person who gave you the award 

2. Paste the award on your blog 

 3. Link the person who nominated you for the award 

4. Nominate your choice of bloggers

5. Post links to the blogs that you nominated (up to 15 but I don’t read that many!)

and 6. Tell 7 things about yourself.

A little about me:

I have already written much about myself in my blog.  These are some things I may not yet have mentioned:

1. I moved to the area where I now live after I retired several years ago, so I don’t have a local support network.

2. I created my blog to replace the support network that wasn’t here.  I find both the blogs that I read and the bloggers that follow me have helped me build a support network.  Also now that I have been here several years I am meeting local people who also are caregivers for family members.

3. I decided my blog would be anonymous in order to protect or at least not offend family members that I talk about.

4. I have grown children and many grandchildren.

5. I just started another diet yesterday.  Really, I lost 20 pounds before I retired (a goal at that time) that I have since regained as I stress about the caregiving I must do!

6. I don’t watch much television.  I would rather read a book.

7. I love photography and would like to have more time to pursue it.

Now I am going to make my nominations separately for the two awards.  But, first I want to say that all of these bloggers are deserving of these and other awards as well.  They are my support network.  They lift me up, give me ideas and direction for the tasks I must do.  Thanks to all of them for their interesting and inspiring blogs.

For the Versatile Blogger Award, I nominate:

Day by Day with the Big Terrible A (Alzheimer’s of Course)   written by Starryeyestonight who is looking after her husband with dementia.

 A Circle in The Path  written about her mother who has Lewy-Body Dementia and her 93-year-old “Uncle” C who lives with them.  Uncle C has dementia now too and is a distant relative of her husband’s.

Baby Boomers and More written by Irene, a Baby Boomer who lives in Redmond, Washington.   She writes about Aging, Alzheimer’s, Caregiving and many other topics of interest.

 For the Beautiful Blogger Award, I nominate:

Not HouseboundLaura cares for grandfather George in Texas.  

My Mother’s Caregiver.  is operated by Sharon Osvald Communications in Brighton, Canada.  She is a writer who is caregiver for her mother who lives in a nursing home.

Middlescapes is written is written by Blessedbeth.  She calls it “A blog about caregiving a frail elder, life in the middle years, the search for one’s inner athlete, and baking as a path to enlightenment.”

And I need to apologize as I can’t seem to get these fonts to work for me in a clean and consistent way!  All emphasis should be the same for all the bloggers!  I still have a lot to learn with this editor.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Awards, Caregiving, Eldercare. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Beautiful Blogger Award and Versatile Blogger Award

  1. terry1954 says:

    congrats! u so deserve this

  2. Teresa Cleveland Wendel says:

    You are a beautiful blogger to write about about such a personal subject. There are a lot of folks our age who are, or will be, in this position. Thanks for sharing your experiences, and congratulations.

  3. frangipani says:

    Congratulations! Thank you for writing clear informative blogs. You are an inspiration on how to prepare for caregiving and stay sane 🙂

    • Thank you, frangipani. I hope the staying sane part is not just temporary! I get frustrated with my 2 siblings who make very little effort to even visit dad. I do find it helpful to write this blog and get feedback. And it is helpful to read other blogs as well. Thank goodness for the blogging world!

  4. Pingback: My Mother’s Caregiver’s Top Weekend Reading Picks | My Mother's Caregiver

  5. Pingback: The Silver Quill Blogger Award: Thank You | Let's Talk About Family

Leave a Reply

