Still Alice


I don’t usually review books here on my blog.  But now I am reading “Still Alice” by Lisa Genova and I have to tell you about it.  In this novel, Alice is a 50-year-old woman who is diagnosed with early Alzheimer’s disease. This is a very real story, though not based on actual people.

The author had a grandmother with Alzheimer’s disease.  She grew up to be a neuroscientist and wanted to write a fictional truthful depiction of life with Alzheimer’s.    And she told this story from Alice’s viewpoint.

I found this to be a real page-turner.  I felt like I was Alice.  Then I was the husband, the daughter, the colleague.  How do people react before being told that a parent or friend has Alzheimer’s disease?  I am going to go back to my chair and finish the book tonight after I finish writing this post.

Still Alice was chosen by Target to be one of its “bookmarked” or book club editions.  This added to the popularity of the book.  Nevertheless, I admit I hadn’t heard of it until my daughter recently suggested that I read this book which she enjoyed.  I got mine from the library, but wherever you get a copy, you should read this book.

Here is a link to Still Alice on Amazon.com.  You can read the reviews there or look for it on goodbooks.com.

Now I’ve got to go and finish this book!

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Books about Alzheimer's or Dementia, Eldercare and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Still Alice

  1. Teresa Cleveland Wendel says:

    Thanks for the review. I’m always looking for a good read. I took care of my cousin with Parkinson’s for over 4 years. Now my dear friend has been diagnosed with Alzheimer’s. I plan to be there for her all the way.

    • You’re welcome, Teresa. I think you will really enjoy it. This was a pretty fast read, but it got me thinking about a lot of aspects of Alzheimer’s that I hadn’t thought of before. I didn’t think about how it is to know you have Alzheimer’s and I wonder if dad was aware when he started to decline. I really don’t know if he knows he has Alzheimer’s or not, but he does know he needs help with things that mom used to do for them like bill paying, etc.

  2. I have also read Still Alice and it was a hard read for me. My mother had Alzheimer’s, my husband has it now and one of my daughter’s friends has recently been diagnosed with the Early Onset type (she is around 50, I think). The author describes things very well. I pray every day for a cure.

    • Me too. Early onset Alzheimer’s is even more frightening. I learned more about the genetics of early onset Alzheimer’s from that book than I ever knew before. Dad was older when he got it but I still worry about it too. A prevention method and a cure would help millions of people!

Leave a Reply

