Thank You – For Sunshine and More: The Sunshine Award and a Tribute to a D-Day Soldier


A special Thank you tonight for Gary at “Hoarding Woes and You” who nominated me for the Sunshine Award in a special way today.  I get a lot of inspiration from Gary who has been working tirelessly to clean up first his mother’s hoarding house and now his aunt’s hoarding house.  He wrote a beautiful post about me this morning and I am honored.

I received this award previously  in April of this year and noted some of the required data about myself and my nominees for passing along this award.  I will post more about myself and additional nominees at a later time.  I have found so many inspirational blogs in the past few months that I would like to call out when I am able to take the time.

I once thought I would keep up a separate page of links to bloggers who write about caring for family members, hoarding, and other topics of interest to me and the community I have been reading about.  However, it was one of these ideas (like filling my plate at a pot luck dinner) where I picked up more than I can eat at the moment and I will have to save the rest (adding pages of blogs I like) until later.  Until then, I will just say that there are so many other caregivers on WordPress and other blog sites that articulate what I am feeling and experiencing that I encourage everyone to look around at those who comment here and elsewhere and follow them too.

My second “Thank You” tonight is to my Uncle J. who was part of the US forces that took part in the D-Day invasion on this date 68 years ago.  Uncle J was scheduled to land a few days after the initial onslaught in a “mulberry” boat that was to be sunk at its destination and then convert into a dock.  The mulberry unit was towed across the channel and they experienced terrible storms as they made the crossing.  Uncle J’s mulberry became entangled with other boats being towed, and they were cut loose.  They floated randomly in the storms for 3 days before washing up on Normandy Beach.

During that time all of the men on that boat were sick with nausea and vomiting and fear of sinking in that storm.  Uncle J prayed to be saved and pledged he would become a monk if he survived.  He did survive and while he never became a monk, he did spend many years working daily for the church as a lay person giving assistance at communion. He retired from the military after over 20 years of service.

He later served the church into his 80’s when his health prevented him from continuing.  Uncle J passed away almost 2 years ago and I still miss him very much.  Good job, Uncle J, we owe you and all the others our very freedom!

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Awards, Eldercare, Memoir and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thank You – For Sunshine and More: The Sunshine Award and a Tribute to a D-Day Soldier

  1. terry1954 says:

    congratulations!!!

Leave a Reply

