Sunshine Award and One Lovely Blog Award: Thank You


Gary of Hoarding Woes and You nominated me for the Sunshine Award on June 6thTerry1954 nominated me for the One Lovely Blog Award on June 18th.   I would like to refer you to both Gary’s and Terry’s blogs as I read them regularly.  Gary is cleaning up a hoarding house after the passing of his aunt, and after he did the same thing for his mother.  I am mesmerized by his blog as he has been working through such a difficult task and at a time when he was also caring for his aunt.

Terry has her own challenges as she cares for her brother who has Parkinson’s disease and serious emotional difficulties.  She is giving so much of herself in her care of her brother, that others have to urge her to take care of herself as well.

I am honored to receive both awards.

The requirement for these awards is first to give credit to the people who nominated you – Thank you Gary and Terry!  And one is to tell some things about yourself, and to nominate up to 15 others for the award.   Also copy the award symbol and insert it into your blog.  I have the sunshine award already in my widgets and now I will add the one Lovely Blog Award symbol as well (if I can still remember how!)

About me:  I am writing my blog anonymously in order to be able to share my problems dealing with siblings, hoarding and caring for my elderly parents and still protect the privacy of my family.  My goal when I started to blog was to get support and ideas from my readers, and I have been blessed with good feedback on many issues.

I am a retired single parent who has evolved into the caregiving role for my parents.  Mom passed away about 18 months ago and dad now lives a few miles from me in an assisted living facility.  My sister and brother are both hoarders, though my brother’s problem involves me much more directly.  I am frustrated with my inability to convince my brother to vacate dad’s home so that I can sell it to pay for dad’s living expenses.

More fun things about me include the fact that I was a tree-climbing tom-boy when I was young even though I have always been afraid of heights.  That might be why I found it easier to get up the tree than to get back down again!  I always loved animals though I have none at this point.

And from Buzzle.com “What do you appreciate most about your life?”  I appreciate most the fact that I am still here in it and that I am retired and able to help my dad and be near some of my children and grandchildren.  I have lost some cousins younger than I so I appreciate life in general.  I have lived far from my family and therefore appreciate living near at least some family members again.

For the Sunshine Award, I nominate:

where’smyT-backandotherstories

Dealing with Dementia

Taking Care   of Mom and Dad

For the One Lovely Blog Award, I nominate:

A Circle In The Path

The Dementia Diary

NOT Housebound

Losing my Soulmate

Kathy’s Blog: Healing from the Loss of a Parent

Lisa McColgan

Nine & a Half Hours Ahead

Congratulations to all of you.  I read your blogs for information, enjoyment and to share in your life crises.  I feel like I get to know more about other people and other ways to approach my problems as I read your blogs.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Awards, Caregiving, Dementia, Family, One Lovely Blog Award, Sunshine Award and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sunshine Award and One Lovely Blog Award: Thank You

  1. kellidd says:

    Thank you so much for the nomination! I will get to work on my part of the information right away!

  2. No hurry, Kellidd, it can take awhile to get your information together.

  3. Pingback: Blog Awards « Nine & a Half Hours Ahead

  4. Pingback: One Lovely Blog Award. Thank You | Let's Talk About Family

  5. Pingback: The Silver Quill Blogger Award: Thank You | Let's Talk About Family

  6. Pingback: Acknowledging Kindness and Support « Kathy's Blog: Healing from the Loss of a Parent

Leave a Reply

