Tyranny of the “To-Do” List


I know I haven’t written much this week.  I have been too wrapped up in the “to do” list and have not had time to write here also.  I did accomplish some major objectives on my list however.  I also made a new rule for myself — that I should not add anything to the list until I have achieved most of the previous goals.  That means my list is finally getting shorter.

However, in the back of my mind I have a sort of secret list of things that will get added to the list as soon as I allow myself to add things to the list!  Suffice it to say that progress is good but not great.

One item on my list was to take some things to a tailor.  My neighbors had suggested a tailor to me and gave me a name and address.  I have been driving around with the items and address in the trunk of my car since April.  This week I finally went to my computer, printed a map and deliberately set out to find the tailor’s shop.  I brought in my items to be repaired and they are to be picked up tomorrow.

I was ready to cross this item off my “to-do” list when I realized that I have something else that needs to go to the tailor.  Realistically if I took the time I could fix this repair myself.  However, it would probably sit next to my sewing basket for months or years at the rate I have been accomplishing things.  Therefore I will try to remember to take this new item to the tailor when I pick up the previous items.  I guess I have secretly added an item to my list!

Another huge item on my list was to research and buy a new car. I actually started this task last November when I stopped at the dealer to look at the cars.  I didn’t spend much time there though as I didn’t want to buy a new car before going south for several months over the winter.  I wanted to get it in the spring so I could test it out the first few months and make sure everything was working as it should.  I also didn’t want to be paying for insurance on a new car and then leave it for months to just sit in the garage!

So I finally decided it was time and I went to the car dealer three times in the past 2 weeks.  The first salesman I saw was a real jerk.  His condescending attitude was almost enough to make me stop looking at the car I really wanted.  Instead I waited a week and then went in and asked for a different salesman.  And yes, I told them why.  I got a nice helpful salesman.

And I ended up with the car I wanted although I always feel though as if I paid too much because I am a woman.  In the end it probably doesn’t make that much of a difference and I expect to drive this car for a very long time.  The car I had been driving is almost 20 years old now, so I know I get full value out of what I buy.

One problem with my new car is that it is so clean and perfect I am almost afraid to use it!  Today I drove the old one rather than thread the new one through the bevy of trucks that come weekly to do landscaping around here.  Tomorrow I will take the new one when I go to the library and to visit dad.  I also want to spend some time just practicing how to set the radio stations and make the other new features work, etc.

I really hate to drive a different car than the one I am used to.  That is why I have always been reluctant to rent cars.  I have always preferred to drive my own.  It is also probably one reason I have waited so long to replace my last vehicle.  Now I just have to get used to this one so that it feels like my own also.  Then it will be one less thing to worry about.  My previous vehicle didn’t have the new safety features that have been released in the last 2 decades so I was starting to feel vulnerable in it as time went by.  Now I feel like I have the latest up-to-date vehicle and I can just relax.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in "To-Do List", Eldercare, Misc., New Car and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

