Caregiving and Cell Phones


I don’t know when Cell Phones went from convenient device to a necessity, but somehow over the years it has.  I acquired my first cell phone – heavy like a brick – in the 1990’s.  I got it for emergencies as I had to travel for my job.  I rarely used it but always took it along.

Over the years as I took on the care of mom and dad I found I had to carry my cell phone with me every day.  Mom had many chronic ailments and was hospitalized several times.  I felt I needed to be able to respond immediately to an emergency.

Now that mom is gone, I still have to watch over dad’s care.  I continue to carry my cell phone with me every day and charge it every night.  I rarely actually use it to make or receive personal calls.  Therefore I have an inexpensive prepaid plan.

One thing I didn’t need to do this week – but did anyway – was to lose my cell phone.  I had it last week when I visited dad.  Later that day I didn’t have it.  I was pretty sure I had lost it at dad’s assisted living facility, but it never turned up.  Some of the staff even looked around for it too.   I thought it might turn up when I was just doing something else, but it never did.

So, after a week without a cell phone I decided I had to purchase a new one.  The one I lost was about 5 year’s old – low tech, no camera, etc., just a telephone.   I found a new one that was not too expensive.  It has a nice LCD screen which displays large numbers as I key them in and it also has a low quality camera.  It is still quite small which I like as I didn’t want a lot of weight to carry around.

One major problem is that I have to re-enter all of my contacts.  I never backed up the old one and didn’t know if I could.  The salesman said I could transfer contacts from my old cell phone to my new one if I had it.  But, if I had it I wouldn’t have purchased the new one!  Anyway, all I have re-entered so far is the phone information for my children, siblings and dad’s assisted living facility.  At some point, I have to find some time to enter many more still relevant numbers.

I had a great prepaid plan but it was discontinued long ago. I could have kept using it as long as I had my old telephone.  However, the new telephones “don’t work” with my old plan.  I guess that is how they get you to move on to the newer more expensive plans.  My new plan isn’t too bad compared with the old one, but the price per minute doesn’t seem to go down on evenings and weekends so far as I know.  I suppose I could look it all up online but I didn’t want to put the time into it!

Now that I have a new cell phone, I’m sure the old one will turn up any minute!

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Caregiving, Elder Care, Eldercare and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Caregiving and Cell Phones

  1. terry1954 says:

    that’s the way it always works, doesn’t it? it will show up, just like my credit card, when i thought it was stolen or lost, as soon as i reported it, it appeared………enjoy your new phone. my company transferred all of my numbers for me. i am not good at technical things so i beg til they feel sorry for me. lol

    • Yes, it usually works just that way for me too. I wish I has someone to transfer all those contacts for me. I know some are lost forever and some I probably don’t need. I just hope I have the numbers I need when I need them!

      • terry1954 says:

        i hope so also for your sake. other wise you will be looking in the directories or calling friends to find out numbers……and that isn’t fun either

  2. Yes, that could be a hassle!

  3. Pingback: MEDCO – Another Hassle to Update Dad’s Account | Let's Talk About Family

Leave a Reply

