MEDCO – Another Hassle to Update Dad’s Account


Now that I have my new cell phone (See Caregiving and Cell phones),  I have to notify friends and businesses about my new cell phone number.  Yesterday I planned to notify dad’s assisted living facility and Medco.  I made one phone call to the assisted living facility and it was done.

Then I called Medco.  Actually I called the Privacy Office at Medco since I knew I had to be sure they updated my Personal Representative status before they would talk to me about dad’s account and let me update the phone number.  Sure enough, they had NOT updated my status as Personal Representative as they had promised me in April of 2012 (and also April of 2011)!  I was pretty upset and told the representative (Mary) that I was tired of the run-around from Medco.

A little history here: I have sent in about 5 forms signed by dad appointing me to be his personal representative – including his durable power of attorney for health care (health care surrogate form), a letter from his employer stating they accept me as his personal representative and 3 Medco Personal representative forms signed by dad over the past 2 years.  Each time the forms are either not considered acceptable or “not received” even though I send everything with signature required and I always get a form from the post office acknowledging receipt of these forms.

Yet in April, 2012 I hit the same problem again when I called the Grievance office about medication dad was receiving that he was not still taking.  [See Medco Again! Frustrating Experiences Caring for Dad!]  Again I had a problem getting the Medco staff to talk to me about dad’s account because they had “no record” that I was his personal representative.  I about blew my top and gave them his name, SSN, insurance number, group number, birth date and everything else and they finally did discuss the issue at hand.

At that time, I spoke with Angela in the Grievance office and she told me to just fax in another copy of the personal representative form and she would deliver it personally to the Privacy Office.  I did that even though I felt it shouldn’t be necessary to send in the forms again.  The following week I spoke again with Angela to follow up on the medications they just kept sending (and charging dad’s credit card for) even though he was no longer taking that medication.  I asked Angela if she received the personal representative forms that I had faxed and she assured me she did and she had personally delivered it herself to the Privacy Office.  She acknowledged that the Medco computer still did not reflect that I was the personal representative.

So yesterday I told Mary at the Privacy Office that I had spoken with Angela in the Grievance Department in April and had faxed her the forms which dad had signed.  I said that Angela had assured me that she had received the forms and had delivered them personally to the Privacy Office.  But then Mary told me the Grievance Office was in a different state than the Privacy Office and they had no record of receiving the forms in the Privacy Office.

Mary was very pleasant and helpful even though I started out pretty angry.  Sometimes it seems they are all pleasant and helpful though but in the end nothing is accomplished, so I was not hopeful for a better outcome.

Mary said I had 2 options to update the forms.  First I could go online since she could see dad had an account with Medco and I could update the forms right online.  If I was unable to get online, I could fax the forms directly to Mary.  I thanked her and told her it would be the next day when I sent the fax as I had to go out to do that.  I don’t have a fax at home.

I then pulled out dad’s Medco files and found the printout dad had saved about his online account.  I remembered looking at it before.  I knew dad’s email and password so I tried to log in.  I got the message that I had too many attempts before and I was locked out.  I had almost forgotten I tried that before and I don’t know why it failed.

I called the web master and got the password reset and got online in dad’s account.  I updated his telephone numbers (removing my old cell phone and adding the new one as a secondary number), his address and his local pharmacy which was 2 years out of date.  I set myself up to be the official personal representative and printed out that form.  I forgot to print out his account information before I logged out however.

I tried to log back in to print out the account information and I was locked out again.  I had seen a message that it would take 24 hours to update the account so I decided to wait overnight and try again.  I logged in this morning but again with some difficulty.  I forgot I had updated dad’s email address since I kept the old one active.  He doesn’t still use it because of his confusion but I keep it just in case.

So, when I first tried to log in with dad’s email address the login failed.  I called the web master again but while I was calling her I also tried the other email address for dad.  That one worked, so I told the web master I didn’t need her help.

This time I did print out the account information and put it in my file.  I hope when I need to call Medco again I can get right to the business at hand and not spend a lot of time convincing them that I am a legitimate personal representative!  I am tired of the run around.

I sent the fax to Mary also and asked that she keep a copy with dad’s file.  I don’t want to trust the online changes.  I was to call Mary to tell her to get the fax which was in a privacy room.  Of course, Mary was not in, so I just left a message.  I don’t know if she got it or not.

In looking at dad’s account printout, I could see they had his cholesterol medication in 2 places — one dosage was listed as a prescription medication and a different dose was listed from a retail pharmacy.  I asked about this at the ALF.  They checked and realized his dosage had been reduced and they bought a 30 day supply locally so he would have it.  He will run out in 2 weeks.

I asked that they call it in but was told it was too soon and they would call it in later.  I will be keeping a close eye on this one because they messed up his blood pressure medication last month.  I hate that I have to watch over the ALF so carefully.  But I am hopeful that having direct access to his online account will help me track the prescription orders.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Elder Care, Eldercare, Health Insurance, MEDCO and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to MEDCO – Another Hassle to Update Dad’s Account

  1. Casey says:

    Oh, dear God! I don’t know how you have put up with this! You have endless patience. SHAME on Medco for their colossal waste of time, money and resources!

    • Thank you, Casey. Sometimes I can’t believe they can stay in business like that. But of course, the insured person is not the one who has the contract to purchase insurance. It is the employer who contracts with Medco because they are cheaper. And they stay cheaper by giving bad service and making the insured not want to ask for anything! For myself, I refuse to use Medco since I choose my own insurance. But dad’s benefits includes coverage from Medco and that is it. Medco determines whether to accept a local pharmacy or not. They do the management as well as supplying the medications, so they have us trapped.

  2. terry1954 says:

    i hate to say it but the part of the personal representative? i fight this so much, whenever there are any changes and i need to talk to someone in authority. i have faxed at least four or five times to Al’s prescription company, and still today, i know if i had to call them they would say they never received them, even when i have had direct names and numbers told to me to fax to. it is rediculous. if they can’t get it right, hire someone who can!

  3. I often feel they deliberately make it difficult for family members. They also never acknowledge in writing that they received the forms, etc.

  4. Teresa Cleveland Wendel says:

    The paperwork is a very difficult, yet essential, part of caregiving, I found.

  5. Pingback: MEDCO- Express Scripts Merger and Personal Concerns | Let's Talk About Family

  6. Pingback: Update on my experience with Medco-Express-Scripts | Let's Talk About Family

Leave a Reply

