Medco Update – Good News!


This morning I got an email from Medco addressed to the new email address I had given them online yesterday.  That was great news.  It means everything is working the way it should.

The email told me that a new prescription fax had been received and led me to log in to the web page.  I logged in and found the new prescription was the new dosage that dad is now taking for his cholesterol.  It said the prescription will be mailed on July 11th.  This must be the soonest it can be mailed since his original prescription was purchased locally.

Previously when Medco received such a fax they had a robot lady phone me and say she was calling from Medco.  This voice mail robot would then ask if I was my dad.  At first, I said no, and then it hung up on me.  Later I learned to say yes, I was my dad, and I got the message.  Still it did not tell me what prescription was received or mailed.  Thus dad got 270 days worth of medications he wasn’t taking before I finally figured out what was happening.

However, when I was able to log onto their website this week I found that account settings included the option to receive email instead of phone calls when they received a new prescription or mailed it out.  I chose that option and thus got this email from them.

In addition, now I can log on and see what medications he has available and what has been sent.  I can even ask for refills online and without the long difficult phone calls.  I am very hopeful that this will save me a lot of time and aggravation!  I feel like I really made some progress now.  I hope I am not setting myself up for disappointment!

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Assisted Living Facility, Caregiving, Elder Care, Eldercare, Health Insurance, MEDCO and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Medco Update – Good News!

  1. terry1954 says:

    i am so glad that after so much frustration, everything has worked out!!!!! sad that you had to do all of the work, while they are getting paid

    • Yes, Terry, it is a relief. And yes, I often feel I should be paid for all the time I put into this, and yet it is Medco and other companies that make things so difficult! But it does seem to be working. I had a phone message when I got home today from Medco and it was for my dad OR me, so now I am considered a representative. I called and they were verifying the shipping address. I think when I deleted dad’s old address from his house, they automatically checked and found I didn’t have the zip plus 4, I just had the zip code for his current address. And to be sure, I have no idea what the plus 4 zip is as I never use it. I see that as a business thing only. Anyway, they felt all set and the medication should come on time. If it is late, I can get up to a week’s worth at the local pharmacy, so that is progress. It is too bad it took over 2 years to get here, but at least I think this will be smoother from now on.

      • terry1954 says:

        one down and how many to do??? unfortunately, it seems to never end permanently, when insurance companies are involved. i have the same problems here with Al. i often think a different line of work is in order for me, maybe a title with Problem Solver, involved. lol

  2. Yes, it is a ever ending cycle. Blue Cross has done this too and so has Medicare. I try to take it one day at a time but when I can I like to get each company to accept that I am the representative for dad. Period!

  3. Pingback: MEDCO- Express Scripts Merger and Personal Concerns | Let's Talk About Family

  4. Pingback: Update on my experience with Medco-Express-Scripts | Let's Talk About Family

Leave a Reply

