A Good Day


Last weekend when my son and I were visiting him, dad asked if I would take him to a thrift store this week.  I said I would take him later in the week and yesterday was the day I chose.

Dad was in bed when I arrived and I was afraid he wasn’t feeling well.  I went around to the side so I could see if his eyes were open and they were.  I asked if he was OK and he said yes, he was just “resting”.  I told him I had planned to take him to the thrift store that day.  “OK” he said and he got right up.  I guess he naps when he is bored so I’m glad I came with a plan.

He was ready in 2 minutes and off we went.  This was the first time dad saw my new car but he didn’t say much about it.  I found it made things a little easier as his door stays locked when I park.  He was looking for a way to unlock it when I went around to get his walker and unlocked the car.  Unfortunately this unlocks all the doors, so he was out before I got his walker out.  I feel safer in parking lots if he doesn’t get moving before I am ready to be right by his side.

Anyway, when we arrived I was able to park right by the door in the handicapped parking space.  Dad went right in and exclaimed again about how big the store is.  It is the largest Salvation Army store I have ever been in.  But we have been there many times already.  Dad just forgets between visits and is impressed by the size every time we go.

Dad always heads for the same things he has shopped for in the past.  He forgets that he doesn’t watch television anymore and he looks at all the DVD and DVR players.  He looks at computer gadgets and all the other electronics.  After he explored everything except the clothing, I asked if he was ready for lunch and he said yes.

We went to a nearby restaurant where we have eaten many times before.  The menu is quite extensive and confusing to him.  I pointed out the things he has liked in the past and we ordered.  This time the restaurant was extremely noisy so it was impossible to have any conversation at all.  I thought about other nearby restaurants so maybe next time we will go somewhere else.  That place was very busy and noisier than I had remembered.   The nice part though was that dad had a great appetite and ate a lot more than he usually does.  He is a picky eater, as they have pointed out to me at his ALF.  (Mom used to complain about that as well!).  Anyway yesterday he ate very well.  I am still trying to get him to gain weight to make up for all the weight he lost last year.

When I got him back to his room I think he was ready for his nap (in his chair) and I was ready to go home and rest too.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Assisted Living Facility, Caregiving, Elder Care, Eldercare and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Good Day

  1. terry1954 says:

    i am so glad that you are one of those children, that pay visits to your dad, so many don’t, and end up dying alone

    • Thanks, Terry. I enjoy spending time with dad and I miss spending time with mom. I don’t understand those who avoid their parents. Once they are gone, we will have lost all opportunity to share conversations with them. I had a friend who lived in the same town as her mother and never visited her. I just couldn’t understand that. I want to be with dad while I can because there will come a time when he is gone.

Leave a Reply

