Dads Follow-Up Medical Visit


Yesterday I took dad to a follow-up visit with his urologist.  It had been 6 months since his last visit.  Last time dad was just out of the hospital and nursing home and didn’t look very well.

Yesterday, however dad was much improved physically, if not mentally.  I had reminded him several times that I would be there to take him to his doctor, but he was still surprised when I showed up.  As we approached my car, he was surprised again and commented that it was a new car.  (Yes, it is new, but it was new last week when he rode in it too.)   To be fair, I had the old car almost 2 decades, so it may take dad awhile to remember I am driving a different car now.

Dad didn’t recognize the doctor but the doctor remembered him.  He looked at dad with a huge smile.  He couldn’t believe how much better dad looked.  I will add that dad had lost a lot of weight last year and was at his low point after his illness.  In the past 6 months he has gained back 7 pounds of the 17 he had lost.  His color is better and he had a nice smile though he was still confused about why he was there.

They did some tests and everything was normal.  He said dad doesn’t have to return until next spring after I return from my winter vacation.  The doctor said it was patients like dad that made him feel so good about his work.  Clearly dad was in the midst of a short-term crisis six months ago and now he looks and feels so much better.

I was given some paperwork to have blood tests done a week before his next visit.  (I had been wrong and there were no tests scheduled before this one.)  I was also given a written summary of the visit.

On the way home, dad and I stopped for cannolis.  It was a nice outing and then we went back to his ALF.  I asked the aide at his assisted living facility to make a copy of the blood test orders and the report from the visit and I left the originals with them.  I brought the copies home to file and hopefully they will help me remember 9 months from now what we had discussed and what needed to be done.

I was relieved to be done with the visit.  I didn’t realize how stressed I was about that office visit until yesterday morning as I paced the house and prepared to go pick up dad.  I really couldn’t focus on doing anything else until we were done with that visit.  On the other hand, since dad forgets, he didn’t worry at all!  Sometimes there are advantages to living in the moment.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Assisted Living Facility, Doctor, Eldercare and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dads Follow-Up Medical Visit

  1. terry1954 says:

    i am happy that you two had good reports, that is nice to hear for a change, isn’t it

  2. Teresa Cleveland Wendel says:

    I remember how stressful those doctor visits were when I took my cuz to his appointments. Because I don’t have a car, we had to take the bus which made it even more challenging. I applaud you for your loving efforts to help your dad.

    • Thanks, Teresa. I think I am a more nervous driver with dad in thecar. And it is always a challenge to get his walker in the car and out again before he starts to run across the parking lot. Still I am glad I can go with him and know what is happening. Dad certainly doesn’t remember any of it for 5 minutes after we leave the doctor’s office. And for a reward for both of us,we stopped for snacks on the way home. I am glad though that he doesn’t have another appointment until April. I hope he stays healthy until then!

Leave a Reply

