Catching up on Phone Calls – Saved Money with Cable Company


I hate to make phone calls for my accounts and my dad’s accounts.  Sometimes I feel like I spend too much time on the telephone accomplishing very little.  Therefore I had put off a lot of phone calls for quite awhile.

However, yesterday was such a hot day I decided to see what I could accomplish without leaving the house.  I visited dad as usual in the morning and then I made many of the phone calls that I had been putting off.  One call was to the cable company.  I always cringe when the cable bill comes because I have more services than I use.  I thought I would drop something to keep the costs down.  Also for the past week I have been getting error messages on my television when I press the “start over” button.  Now usually I use this button a lot because it allows me to visit dad and still see the whole noon news program after I get home.  This week that has not worked.

So, I called the cable company and as usual I got the robot voice mail lady who asked if the phone number I was calling from matched the account and I said yes.  She asked several more questions (which were asked over again 3 more times by subsequent humans I talked to!).  I find the robot ladies very annoying and just want to move on to the humans.  I think the “artificial intelligence” is just designed to make me give up and hang up!

I finally reached technical support and got help with my error message.  In effect I had to unplug the cable box and replug it in.  After awhile it worked.  Then the support person asked if I had any other questions and I asked what I was paying for all the services and what it would entail to drop the DVR which I really don’t use.  She told me the costs but was unsure how to drop it.  She transferred me to another sales person instead.

This turned out to be a good thing as the first lady would have me driving to the other side of the small city I live in and I don’t drive over there.  I still feel new to the area and tend to get lost when I get off my usual routes.

Anyway this sales person said they were having a “special” and I could get the DVR for free for the next 6 months.  So I said that was a perfect price and I would keep it.  That gets me into January and at that time I plan to be leaving for my winter vacation on the south.

I asked what happens when the special runs out.  Then how much would it cost me?  Oh, he said, they run a lot of specials on that one, so I could just get the next special when this one runs out.

The moral of the story is to call frequently and ask about pricing.  They hate to lose a customer and seem likely to do whatever it takes to keep you.  I should have called about this a long time ago!  A recommendation to my readers would be to call your cable company and ask how you can lower the price as you are thinking of dropping a service or switching to another provider.  I think you might save some money!

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in "To-Do List", Assisted Living Facility, Cable Company, Eldercare, Misc., Phone Calls and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Catching up on Phone Calls – Saved Money with Cable Company

  1. boomer98053 says:

    I’m focusing on your preliminary paragraphs where you got the automated robot voice mail lady who absolutely seems to be hard of hearing. Imagine someone passing by your house while you’re yelling “one!!” “Yes!!” “No!!” It’s VERY frustrating. Now imagine an elderly person who a) can’t hear all that well; and b) is not quite certain how the heck he or she is supposed to have a successful phone call talking to a non-person.

    In my work with senior citizens, I hear time and again that they find these automated “customer service” (oxymoron) functions absolutely impossible to handle, and some just give up. How sad. They are trying to remain as independent as they can – without bothering the kids – and they hit a brick wall in the process. Our advanced electronic age isn’t very user-friendly for those of an advanced age.

  2. Irene, I totally agree with you. Dad has always refused to talk to those things and used to just hand the phone to mom. Mom started having hearing problems and I often had to make phone calls for her even though I lived thousands of miles away. I think there should always be an easy way to reach a human. I have refused to buy some products such as Dell computer support because of the difficult to use voice response system.

Leave a Reply

