Kaboom! Dad and his Great-grandson Laugh at Fireworks


This morning when I visited dad, my son and my 2-year-old grandson, George were also there.  Dad was reading the newspaper and seemed more alert than yesterday when he snoozed through most of my visit.

As soon as George saw me, he ran over and I thought I was about to get a hug, but no, he was looking for my iPad in my purse!  He wanted to watch a video.  I pulled out the iPad and turned it on as George tried to “help” me.  I have to get my code entered fast before George hits random numbers and gets me locked out.

My son told me to type in “London Fireworks 2012” in the YouTube search box.  Sure enough, George’s new favorite video came up.  As you might expect it is of New Years’ eve fireworks in London with the focus on the fireworks coming from Big Ben as the bells chime in the new year.  The crowd shouts the countdown “10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1” and then there is a roar from the crowd, bells ring and the fireworks start coming from the tower.

George got so excited.  With each chime, he shouted “kaBOOM!”  He was laughing and soon we were all laughing.  Dad was the most animated I have seen in a long time.  It was fun to see.  George claimed that he “loved Big Ben”!

As we were watching the video, dad’s telephone rang, so I turned down the volume for dad to hear the conversation.  George got bored without the sound so he asked to go outside and see the birds.  I noticed dad was more animated than usual on the telephone as well.  He asked my brother about his friend’s last name, and about a trip he is planning to take.  What I noticed the most was that dad said: “I was thinking last night about your friend Ken.  What was his last name?”

Even my brother noticed the difference in dad and emailed me about it afterwards.  We both thought dad was more alert and aware than he had seemed in quite awhile.

I found myself thinking that I always wondered what dad thought about.  So this reminded me that dad is not as far gone as I had thought and he still remembers the people he hasn’t seen in a few years.  Brother’s friend passed away a year ago, and dad remembered that too.

Before I left dad’s apartment he asked me if I would take him to a thrift store “to look around a little bit”.  I don’t know if he remembers that we just went a few weeks ago, but we will go again this week.  It is one of the things dad still enjoys, along with going out for lunch.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Assisted Living Facility, Dementia, Elder Care, Eldercare, Family and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kaboom! Dad and his Great-grandson Laugh at Fireworks

  1. terry1954 says:

    the laughter of a child brings out the love of an adult

Leave a Reply

