One Lovely Blog Award. Thank You


I have been nominated for the One Lovely Blog Award by Terre Mirsch at Caring with Confidence.   Terre is one of the contributors at “Caring with Confidence”  a blog to offer support for end of life caregivers.  This is a blog I only recently discovered and I recommend you take a look at it also.

Again I am honored to be recognized for this award.  There are requirements for this award and I referred to all of them in Sunshine Award and One Lovely blog Award:  Thank You.  Basically I need to thank the person who nominated me.  Thank you, Terre.  Then I must put the symbol of this award in my post, so it is inserted.  It is also on the side of all my posts since I was last nominated for it.

Another requirement is to tell something about myself.  I have written before that I am caring for my 90 plus year old father who has Alzheimer’s disease.  I am glad to be close enough to care for dad, but frustrated with some of the difficulties I have encountered in his care.  I have spelled out many of them in previous blogs and will continue to do so.

Again I will pull questions from Buzzle.com to help me decide what questions to answer about  myself.  Many of their questions have to do with favorite television programs or movies.  I will admit I hardly watch television and I haven’t been to a movie in years. So I will move on to some other questions:  What do you do when you feel very sad or depressed?  Unfortunately, I tend to eat when I am sad or depressed.  If I can get myself away from the chocolates, I take a nice long walk.  In fact, I would like to take a long walk every day but sometimes other things like the weather sometimes prevents me from doing so.

Another question they suggest is: “What makes you angry? Are you short-tempered? How do you overcome your anger?”  Actually, frustration makes me angry more than anything else.  That is, I get angry when I encounter a problem caring for my parents or even myself and I get stuck in voice mail hell or I speak with someone who seems to be unreasonable.  Most of the time, my frustration comes from making telephone calls for my father or myself.  Usually to overcome this anger I take a long walk.  That gets me back to the first question, I guess.  But walking has always helped me to re-center myself and work off steam.

I have nominated many of my favorite blogs in previous posts, so today I will add a few to the list. These are the blogs I would like to nominate today:

http://camsgranny.wordpress.com/  Camsgrammy is a woman who is a caretaker for her mother who also has Parkinson’s disease.  In addition she takes care of her grandson.

http://inheritingthehoard.wordpress.com/  Inheriting the Hoard is written by Hannah Buchdahl.  It is an interesting blog about Greg and Sidney who inherited a hoarding house.  It is not updated regularly but contains a lot of information that will have you thinking about the families of hoarders. 

http://theclothesareinthestove.wordpress.com/   She wrote about her mother who was in hospice and continues to write since her mother passed.

http://shecleansup.wordpress.com/   A woman writes about helping her parents clean up a hoarding house.  Again, this is another blog about families dealing with hoarding parents.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Awards, Eldercare, One Lovely Blog Award and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One Lovely Blog Award. Thank You

  1. terry1954 says:

    congratulations my friend!!!!

Leave a Reply

