Step 1 – Set Up the Computer


This morning I met my son and grandson in my dad’s assisted living apartment.  My son went out and brought in the computer.  He set it up as much as he was able.  The telephone card was too short to reach around the corner to the phone jack.  I have a longer one at home and will bring it in next time.

I turned on the computer and it booted up.  I was surprised it didn’t scroll through lots of error messages.  But the mouse wouldn’t work.  My son moved the mouse USB connection from the back of the computer to the front of the computer and I re-booted it.  This time it booted up again with similar error messages, but the mouse did work.

The errors were from the fact that there is no active Wi-Fi in the room.  I closed out those messages and tried to find some games in the program file.  In the meantime, my grandson came over to help me.  As a typical 2-year-old, he grabbed the keyboard and began hitting all the keys.  I almost opened the program listing but started again.

My son picked up grandson while I navigated to the games.  They didn’t have a solitaire but did have spider solitaire so I put that icon on the desktop.  I tried it out but it seemed confusing.  My son opened the pinball game and began playing it.  That worked fine.

Dad sat and watched from his Lazy Boy.  Soon it was lunch time so my son and grandson said goodbye and went down the hall towards the door.  Dad looked at me.  “So, now I have a computer,” he said.

“Yes,” I said.  “You have a computer.”

He picked up the software box he got at the thrift store a few weeks ago.  “I need a printer”, he said.

“I will take you to the thrift store to get a printer on Tuesday,” I responded.

Sadly, I still have my doubts whether he will ever get anything to work.  But I am taking it one step at a time.  I would like to see him get out of his chair and try the computer for himself.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Caregiving, Computer, Dementia, Elder Care, Eldercare and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Step 1 – Set Up the Computer

  1. terry1954 says:

    oh my gosh!!! he sounds just like Al! they never give up on just one thing, but yet if I talk to Al about something today and ask him later in the day about it, he forgot all information i gave him, but give him anything in his past…………….he still has it stored in his memory box

  2. SwittersB says:

    Bless you and your patience.

Leave a Reply

