The Continuing Saga — Setting Up Dad’s Computer with a Printer


Well, actually, we are stuck here.  Dad wants a printer to go by his computer.  He bought software at the thrift store that would print cards and things.  I told dad last week that I would take him to the thrift store to buy a printer.

Yesterday we went to the thrift store.  Imagine my surprise when the shelf that usually holds 4 or 5 printers didn’t hold any printers at all.  Instead it had 3 fax machines.  Dad looked at the other shelves and was very disappointed.  He really wanted a printer.  I asked if he wanted to look around while we were there.  He usually loves to browse around in a thrift store.  This time he said: “No.” with a disappointed look on his face.

I suggested we go to lunch in a nearby restaurant and that seemed to please him.  I ordered Chili and he ordered the same.   When our meals came we both ate our salads.  Then the waitress brought our Chili.  I started to eat mine.  He took 2 bites and said he didn’t like it at all.

I asked if he wanted anything else and he asked for a cheeseburger.  I ordered him a cheeseburger.  Before his cheeseburger even arrived he said he decided he wasn’t hungry anyway.  I said to try to eat some, so he took one bite.  We got a box to take the rest home.  It was a disappointing trip for dad.

When we got back to his assisted living facility I noticed my sister was at the front signing in.  We greeted her and she said my niece and her children were in dad’s room.  We went down and visited with them.  I left them there and went home.  I invited them to my house after they left as I knew dad would soon be too tired to visit.

Sister and her family had driven over an hour to get there.  Unfortunately they didn’t tell us they were coming, so they almost missed a visit all together!  In the end it worked out well and we all had a nice visit.

Tomorrow I will visit dad again.  I know he will ask about the printer and I’m not sure what to suggest.  I doubt the thrift store will get more in so quickly.  He would have to wait unless we decide to buy a new one.  I know there is an inexpensive one on sale for about $50.  I hate to suggest it as I still don’t think dad will use his computer once it is set up.

I went through this whole process last year and got his computer set up (see “Dad, Alzheimer’s disease and the Thrift Store” and “Dad and His Computer – Part 2”).   He had a printer and computer set up for 8 months last year and never even turned it on!  Then when he was hospitalized and it looked like he would have to permanently move to a nursing home, I moved out most of his belongings out of his assisted living facility,  including that computer.

However, now he has asked about it so many times in the last month I decided to give in to him and set it up again.  This time I didn’t have an extra printer to give him, thus we are looking for one.

I think dad’s interest is held as long as we are setting it up.  Once I get a computer working for him, then what?  He could prove me wrong and use it this year even though he didn’t use it last year.  In fact, after all this work, I am hoping he will.  But I am not convinced, so I am a reluctant searcher for a printer now.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Caregiving, Computer, Dementia, Elder Care, Eldercare and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Continuing Saga — Setting Up Dad’s Computer with a Printer

  1. Teresa Cleveland Wendel says:

    no matter the outcome, you’ve done what you could.

  2. Pingback: Finding Dad a Printer | Let's Talk About Family

Leave a Reply

