Finding Dad a Printer


The last time I wrote about dad’s computer, we had set it up on his desk and then went to the thrift store for a printer.  The thrift store didn’t have any printers and we came home empty-handed.

The next time I went to visit dad, the first thing he said was “I need a printer”.  I said “I know.  We have 2 choices, either wait a few weeks and try the thrift store again or buy a new one at the store”.   Dad said he didn’t want to buy a brand new printer.  Couldn’t I find another thrift store?  I told him I would ask around and see what there was around here.  The thrift store I usually take him to is large and convenient, and others I have heard of are further away.

Soon after that,  I spoke to one of his companions on the telephone.  She asked about dad and I told her he was doing well but now he was insistent that we set up the computer and printer again.  I told her I was stuck finding a printer.  “Oh, I have a printer you can have!” she said.  Really?  It was that easy?  She said it used too much ink so she and her husband weren’t using it any more.  I would need to buy cartridges for it.

Over the weekend, she brought me the printer and put it in the back of my car.  Sunday when I went to visit dad, my son and grandson were already there.  I gave my son my keys and asked him to bring in dad’s printer.  He brought in the printer and set it up with the computer.  I turned on the computer to load the software drivers.  I had a bit of trouble as one of dad’s CD drives didn’t seem to be working.  My son sat down with it and soon he had the software loaded and the program opened.

He sent a document to the printer and I put a used piece of computer paper in it.  The document didn’t print because there didn’t seem to be any ink in the cartridges.  That was really not a surprise as my friend said it needed cartridges.

I made myself a note to bring in paper.  I also wrote down the model of the printer and they type of cartridges it required.  Now I have to get 2 printer cartridges – one black and one color cartridge.

I explained to dad what was happening and what I would have to do next.  Then my son, grandson and dad were talking for awhile before my son and grandson left.  Dad turned to me.  “So?” he said: “Does the printer work?”  I said I thought it would work but first I had to buy the cartridges.  I think he asked the same question 3 times before I took him to lunch.

I came home and looked online and found the printer cartridges I needed to purchase.  I ordered them for dad.  I knew I could try some office stores nearby but I was tired and didn’t want to go shopping.  I’m sure before they get here dad will ask a few more times.

Before I walked with him to the dining room for lunch, dad asked me to take him out for an Italian meal next week.  I told him I would take him on Tuesday.  I hope that diverts his attention tomorrow as I won’t have his printer cartridges by then!  I got an email this morning saying the print cartridges had been shipped but the tracking number didn’t give any information yet.  I’m not sure how far they are coming as I didn’t realize they were being shipped from Canada.

Once they come, of course, we still have to make the whole thing work.  I need to print out an actual document and then dad will want to install the software that he purchased at the thrift store.  The final test is for something to print from that software.

And I still have my doubts about whether dad will end up sitting at his computer and actually using it.  Still, I am taking this one step at a time and here we are at the moment!

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Caregiving, Computer, Elder Care, Eldercare and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Finding Dad a Printer

  1. terry1954 says:

    girl,,,,,,,,,,,,,i think you are more patient than I am………and i thought i was pretty patient. he won’t give up, this is very noticeable. you are so good to your dad, i appreciate knowing you!

    • Thanks, Terry. I tried to put him off awhile and finally decided it would be easier to just get it on his desk than to keep explaining why it wasn’t there. Mom was impatient with dad the last few years before he died, and I think that is one reason I try even harder. I just remind myself he is almost 95 and doesn’t have that much time left. I want him to have the few things that might bring him pleasure as he can’t do very much anymore.

      • terry1954 says:

        i truly understand, and this is the way i feel about my brother also. he is not old, but he is sick and it is terminal, so i tend to baby him more, but he can take advantage of his illness with me too!!! lol

  2. Bless you for your patience!

  3. Pingback: Dad’s Computer is now Ready With Printer and Print Cartridges | Let's Talk About Family

Leave a Reply

