My Own Computer Problems


One of the items on my “To-Do” list since early spring was to have my computer worked on.  I started keeping a list of problems and as new issues came up, I just added them to my list.  I knew I couldn’t keep putting off the repair, but I was afraid I would have to be without my computer for awhile once I called for help.

Also of course, my list was so full of things I had to do for dad, and my own tasks and medical appointments; I never got to things I felt I could put off.  After I finally purchased my new car and checked out the smaller nursing home, I decided I finally had time to focus on tasks that were further down on the list.

Then last week I started having problems with my backup drive.  I realized it might be full and started to look at my other drives.  Was everything full?  How long had my automatic backup not been working?  I ran out and bought another external backup drive.

In addition, my computer was so slow I could do whole (non-computer) tasks while waiting for it to open a program or a file.  I was afraid my anti-virus program was slowing things down and perhaps I even had 2 anti-virus programs running at once.

Finally I called the computer repair man.  I wanted him to set up the backup drive different than I had it last time.  It was doing a whole image backup and I was afraid it was also doing a file by file backup.  I really didn’t want the image backup, just the file by file backup.  I thought it was taking twice as much space this way and I didn’t plan to ever restore the whole drive, just the files that I need to use.

We set up a time for him to come and work at my house so he could see how the system worked together.  (Last year I had just taken the CPU to the Geeks and the job they did was not really satisfactory.  It really needed to be set up to work with the network, the backup drive, etc.)

When he came, I showed him my list of problems – from network to backup to virus checker to speed.  One by one, he began to work on them.  First he tested the speed of my internet connection.  I was surprised to find that was just fine.  It was my computer that was slow – not the internet.

He removed the virus checker installed by the Geeks.  It was “K” and I hated it.  Immediately things began to speed up.  He downloaded the free one from the internet that I had used in the past.  That was an easy fix and we were on our way.  He looked at the problem I was having with the laptop accessing desktop files.  He said that was due to the fact that I had Windows 7 installed last year by the Geeks yet the laptop had Vista and for some reason they didn’t network well together.  He would get to fixing that later.

I prioritized my issues and one by one he worked on them.  After 3 ½ hours he had to leave for another appointment so we set another date for him to come and finish.  The total time spent on fixing problems was 6 hours!  He did get my laptop to be able to access files on the desktop with a work-around that he found on the internet.  He installed my backup drive so it was backing up my data files (which ran for hours) and later I set it to do an incremental backup each day.

I hadn’t updated my GPS since last year since I thought the changes made on my computer would make it difficult.  He started those updates running and they finished after he left.  I think I can keep it up to date now.

I thought the settings for my paid GPS update subscription were on my old hard drive, but they were actually on the GPS unit itself.  This I had put off doing something I probably could have done myself.

Some things we didn’t get to included getting my iTunes and iPad software updated.  For some reason they have been refusing to update lately.  I said they weren’t as high a priority and at the cost of his time I would keep putting that off.  Maybe I can get that to work myself.  He also suggested I could call him and he could talk me though some problems which would be cheaper than having him come here.

All in all it was over $500 for his time.  But I knew I would just never get the time and mental fortitude to sit down and struggle with all those problems myself.  I used to get such help from a family member but he has moved far away and now I am on my own.

I still have things to review on my computer and backup drive to make sure things are working as they should.  I had spent so much time on dad’s computer that I didn’t want to think about my own.  Really, I put it off for over 4 months and in the end it only took 2 afternoons!  I shouldn’t put myself off like that!  At least now I’m ready to move on to the next thing on my list.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in "To-Do List", Caregiving, Computer, Eldercare, Misc. and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Own Computer Problems

  1. terry1954 says:

    wow, that is a lot of money, i better start saving some for that rainy day! u got it running properly and this is what matters……………good for you!

    • Yes, I could almost buy a new computer with that! But I have a complicated system and files that go way back so I needed help keeping it running for another year. I suspect next year I will break down and replace my old desktop but I want to keep this running as long as I can. I wanted to do video editing and all kinds of high powered things but haven’t got back to that in a few years.

  2. camsgranny says:

    I can so relate to this, I have put off working on my home computer and laptop, to make sure the folk’s computer does what it is supposed to, that well….mine at home have suffered. Hopefully, after a free afternoon, I can get things back to the lickity speed they are supposed to be and also compatible.

    • Yes. It is hard to focus on several systems at once. Having different operating systems on laptop and desktop confuses things even more. But sometimes it is worth the time to just do it and be done with it for awhile 😉

  3. Terry, I prefer my desktop too. But when I travel I take the deskto. I need to get files fromthedesktop to the laptop before I travel and back onto the desktop when I return. It can get complicated to be sure I don’t overwrite the most recent version on the laptop with an older one I from the desktop or vice versa.

  4. Despite a large price tag, it sounds like money well spent. Sometimes one can’t put a price tag on peace of mind. Hope you are back in full technologocial glory. blessings to you and dad.

    • I love how you said that. Yes, it does restore my peace of mind. I have list files, and indeed a whole drive in the past, so a good backup system is important. And just working on the computer without thinking about how it is too slow will be easier too. For me a computer is just a tool, not a toy. I don’t want to tinker with it. I just want it to work!

Leave a Reply

