Catching up on a Rainy Day – Phone Calls and Cell Phones


Today is Saturday and the forecast is for heavy rain all day.  So I have been catching up around the house.

I was going to phone dad when I realized I still had his old phone number in my phone and in my contacts.  I updated the number and realized I have not gotten any bills for dad’s new telephone.  It was installed in July and a bill was overdue by now.

I called the telephone company and sat on hold for awhile.  Then I spoke with the billing department and asked about the bill.  It turned out they had the billing address the same as the installation address – dad’s assisted living facility.  I reminded the woman that I had arranged for bills to be sent to my home, and they did have my name and contact information.  She updated the account and said the next one would be sent to me.

I asked about dad’s current balance and it was almost $200 including the installation.  She said she would send me a copy of the last bill and would also email it to me.  Well, I haven’t received the email and I suspect she got my email address wrong.  It isn’t that difficult but people tend to miss-spell my last name. I will wait a week to see if it comes in the mail.

And I will check dad’s room to see if he set it down someplace there.  I do try to look around sometimes just in case there is any mail I need to see.  He doesn’t usually remember to give it to me.  And that is why I ask that all his bills be mailed to me.

Then I decided to call the cable company to make sure they had received dad’s cable telephone modem and credited it to his account.  Thank goodness everything was just as it should be there.  Still, I felt like I was spending a lot of time on dad’s financial affairs.  I will balance some of his statements today too as long as the weather is so bad.

I tried to telephone dad to tell him I was not going to be there today.  Even when I used the right number, he still did not answer the telephone.  Finally I called the front desk at his assisted living facility.  A new girl answered.  I know they are short staffed and they are always short on weekend.  I asked her to tell dad I wouldn’t be there today.  And really, just to check on dad and make sure he is OK.

It was after 11 AM but I know he slept that late at least one day last week.  I know enough not to call him early, but I don’t want him to sleep all day.  And I want to make sure he gets his morning medications in the morning and not with his lunch medications.

After I finished all my phone calls, I decided it was getting colder as the weather front passed.  I changed from my shorts into jeans.  Wasn’t I surprised to find something in my jeans pocket – my cell phone that I had lost in early July!

I finally replaced it during July and have had an awful time with the new one ever since.  They said I couldn’t transfer my old telephone number onto a new phone and I still don’t understand that.  In any case, the new phone number they gave me came with lots of spam phone calls.  I was getting about 10 phone calls a week from known bill collectors and other phone spammers.  I went back after a week and asked for a different phone number.  This 2nd new phone number is worse that the first!

I get at least 3 telephone calls per day from different numbers, but most are connected to “Mercantile Adjustment Bureau” a known phone harasser.  Perhaps the last people who had my number were deadbeats.  Or else they just got tired of all the junk phone calls.  So they gave up that number and Verizon gave it to me!  Honestly, I don’t want it either.

I was told they “are supposed to wait a year before re-using a phone number, but sometimes they only wait 3 months”.  Well it seems to me they didn’t wait 3 hours.  Not only do I get the credit collection calls (which I let roll to voice mail though they rarely leave a message), but I also have had calls to pick up a prescription at a pharmacy I don’t use and calls from a used car dealer.  I let all calls roll to voice mail because even after I told this credit bureau that I was not the person they were looking for (and I had to do it by voice mail as they don’t use humans at all!), I still continued to get phone calls from them without a day off.

Now when I found my telephone in the jeans pocket, my first question was could I reactivate my old telephone number?  I haven’t called the phone company yet because the battery needs to be charged.  It is charging right now.  If I can get my old telephone number back, that would solve the problem of all the harassing phone calls!  It would be inconvenient though in that the area code is from thousands of miles away.  Still I kept it when I moved here 3 years ago for continuity as all my parent’s doctors had that number, as well as all my friends.

I have had the phone plugged in for 30-40 minutes so far but it won’t let me start it up.  It powers up and then powers down.  I guess I have to leave it charging for a long time.  Then if I can get it to work, I will try to find out this if I can get back my old number.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Assisted Living Facility, Caregiving, Cell Phone, Elder Care, Eldercare and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Catching up on a Rainy Day – Phone Calls and Cell Phones

  1. terry1954 says:

    good luck and i hope you can get it working for you. nothing worse than spam on a cell phone that sometimes uses up the minutes

  2. Thanks. It took most of the evening to get the phone charged, so I will deal with the phone people tomorrow.

  3. SwittersB says:

    Best wishes sorting out phone issues. My Aunt was receiving important bills at her care facility. They would dutifully place the bills in a night stand drawer and I would come upon them a month too late. Sigh.

    • Thanks. I never thought to look “in” anything. Dad does have his own mailbox and key. He gets his magazines and other mail, like cards from grand kids and such. But he just sets those bills aside randomly. I have asked all his utilities like cable and phone to bill me directly. But this is a new phone and company so we still have to get them trained, I guess! I just hate to be late with a payment.

Leave a Reply

