The Rest of the Story: Cell Phones and More


In the last post I told about how I lost and then found my old cell phone.  In the meantime I got a new cell phone and number.  This morning I called the wireless company to see if I could get my old phone number back as it has been less than 3 months since I gave it up.

The short answer is “no”.  I can’t get my old number back.  It has already been assigned to someone with a tablet.  I asked show it could be reassigned since it was less than 3 months since I gave it up.  The woman said it was from June, so she counted June, July and August, so now it is September and they reused the number.  I said yes, but it was late June, so shouldn’t they have to wait till late September?  Obviously not.

So, instead, they assigned me another new number.  (My third since June.)  I was told that if I continue to get the debt collector calls on a new phone, I should call the wireless company back and they would call the companies themselves and tell them the phone number was just assigned to me.

I hope it works.  I have had the new phone about 9 hours so far and haven’t had any junk calls yet.  That is no guarantee or anything, but it is a good sign. I told my children my new number but will wait to give it out to dad’s assisted living facility and his doctors.  It doesn’t seem like the newest number can be worse than the one I had before, but it is hard to know.  After all, the 2nd number was worse than the first.

I asked why the sales person I had bought this phone from was unable to transfer my original telephone number to my new phone when I bought it.  She said she didn’t know as usually they were able to do that.  I wonder if he was just new and didn’t know how?  I would have avoided a lot of problems if I could just have kept my original telephone number!  (And I could have avoided even more problems if I didn’t misplace my telephone in the first place!)

I visited dad today and met my son and grandson over there.  They were sitting in the television lounge with the television blasting political shows.  It made conversations difficult, but dad seems to like it out there.  I left them a few minutes to go check dad’s room to search for the telephone bill that I never got.  I didn’t see it in there.  I hope the copy they sent me arrives this week.

While I was in dad’s room I put some Pepsi in his refrigerator and put 2 boxes of Depends in his bedroom also.  I noticed the smell in his bathroom and saw he had left a dirty Depends on the floor.  When I got back down the hall I notified the medication assistant that dad’s bathroom “needed attention” and told her why.  She said she was understaffed and would get to it later.

I hate to see how understaffed they are but at least dad seems happy there.  I left him as he headed in to lunch.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Assisted Living Facility, Caregiving, Cell Phone, Dementia, Elder Care, Eldercare and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Rest of the Story: Cell Phones and More

  1. terry1954 says:

    according to my calculations, it has not been three months, but then again , businesses make their own rules, it is only the consumer that has to follow the written rules………….glad your dad was having a good day today and he had some good company

    • Yes. They make their own rules and they are always right. I thought there was a requirement legally to wait, but if so, they don’t follow it! Yes, I am glad for dad also. He loves to have his great-grandson visit. The rest of us too.

Leave a Reply

