This and That: Cell Phones and Nursing Homes


Recently I wrote about my new cell phone.  I had just gotten my third phone number since the beginning of the summer.  It looked like all the numbers they gave out came with dozens of spam phone calls.  I am happy to report that so far (more than a week) I have not gotten any spam 800 number phone calls.  I did have several local calls (didn’t answer) who must have figured out by now that their friend no longer had this number.  (I have my name, etc. on the voice greeting.)

I have only given my new cell number to my children and my brother and sister.  Therefore I was quite surprised to get a phone call from an insurance agent about dad’s homeowners insurance the other day.  I almost didn’t answer because I didn’t recognize the number and so few people knew it.  It turned out that my brother had given the number to this insurance agent.  (I asked how she got my number and told her I prefer her to use my home corded phone.)  I really hear better on that one and it doesn’t cost me 25 cents per minute!

Following up on my “To-Do” list, I called another nursing home this week.  I wanted to get some information and schedule a tour.  It turns out they have tours every Tuesday so I am scheduled for the next one.  This is a small nursing home but kind of a trend-setter so I guess they get a lot of interest.  It may make it difficult to actually get dad in if he ever needs to go there.

This one is affiliated with the one dad was in last fall.  However whereas the other one was huge, this one consists of 4 small units.  I want to find something not as intimidating as the last one since dad was totally overwhelmed in the large one.

I want to do as much “investigating” as I can before there is a crisis so I will have more knowledge if I have to make a decision in a hurry.   I want to remember to bring my camera and note pad so I can record my impressions to put in my files.  Of course, I would be most happy if dad never needs to go to a nursing home, but people tell me that is unlikely.

Lately I haven’t written in this blog as much as I had planned to.  I find it is difficult to get myself to sit indoors when it is sunny and beautiful outside.  Now that the days are getting shorter, I hope I will get myself inside to write earlier and more frequently.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in "To-Do List", Alzheimer's Disease, Caregiving, Cell Phone, Elder Care, Eldercare, nursing home and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This and That: Cell Phones and Nursing Homes

  1. terry1954 says:

    let me know what you think of the new place, and as far as the shorter days,,,,,,,,,i hate it myself, for one, it is more bondage inside the house, windows soon will be closing at dusk to stay warm without turning on the heat, and i don’t drive at night as well as i used to. so like the longer days

    • I like the longer warm days too, Terry. And I prefer to be outside. But I admit I get more done inside the house when it is too cold or dark to be outside. I will write about the smaller nursing home after my tour. I expect to like it better except for the limited availability of openings.

Leave a Reply

