Another Bug Coming Through?


Today I went to visit dad and I planned to take him out to lunch.  When I got there dad was in the lounge and he said he wasn’t hungry.  I said we would wait awhile and we did.  Then we went back to his room so he could use the rest room before going out.  He took a long time and then started to come out, turned around and closed the door again.

When dad came out from the rest room he was a bit shaky and his color wasn’t good.  He said he didn’t feel well and he was “light headed”.  I suggested waiting till next week before we go out to eat and he readily agreed.  I stayed with him in his room until it was lunch time at his assisted living facility.

When I suggested I walk him to the dining room he said he still wasn’t hungry.  I said that was OK and I would stop and tell the aides in the wellness office as I left.  I told him I will see him in two days and then stopped to talk to the aides.  I said he wasn’t eating at that time and could they get him before they stopped serving lunch.

When I mentioned that his stomach was upset, the aide told me the same thing was “going through” the assisted living facility at this time.  Uh-Oh, I thought.  It isn’t even that time of year yet when I would expect the indoor bugs to run rampant in that vulnerable population.

I asked the nurse to look in on dad as he said he felt unsteady and I was afraid he might fall.  I also worry about him losing weight or just getting a bug he can’t get rid of at his age.  I know those type of illnesses tend to be fairly common in congregate living facilities because so many vulnerable people live in close proximity.

I just need to keep an eye on dad and the facility to make sure he gets over this in a reasonable amount of time.  I was just a bit unhappy that no one had said anything to me until I said he wasn’t feeling well.  If I had taken him out, I could have exposed others to whatever illness is going around there.

Perhaps I had better notify my son so he can leave my grandson at home this weekend.  I would hate to see the little guy get the bug too.  It would be better to let the illness run its course through the whole facility before bringing young guests in.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Assisted Living Facility, Caregiving, Elder Care, Eldercare and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Bug Coming Through?

  1. terry1954 says:

    like i always say, u r your dad’s best eyes………………….when they reside in a nursing facility. good job!! and keep on those aids and nurses!!!

  2. Thanks, Terry. It is just about a full time job! But then, you put in even more time than I do, so you know well the importance of being there when we are the primary caregiver.

Leave a Reply

