The Silver Quill Blogger Award: Thank You


I have been nominated for �The Silver Quill Blogger Award�, by Camsgrammy and also by Terre Mirsch.

I have been flowing Camsgrammy�s blog at http://camsgranny.wordpress.com/� for a few months now.� I am always amazed at the number of things she seems to be able to accomplish in each day.� She is an avid cook, loves to baby sit for her grandson and is the caregiver for her mother who suffers from Parkinson�s disease.� Reading of her daily activities gives me inspiration as I seem to wear out from just the things I do.� (I rarely cook, clean when I have to and mainly focus on dad�s care.)

Oops, I just realized this morning that I have also been nominated for this same award by Terre Mirsch  who writes “Caring with Confidence”. ��I would like to thank Terre also for this nomination. Terre writes this useful and thoughtful blog about hospice along with some of her colleagues.� I refer you also to her blog.

There are rules to follow with this as most awards, and the rules for this are.

To pay tribute to the one who nominated you, as I have done above.

To answer the following questions.

To nominate five others and let them know.

Questions

1- Do you prefer rhyming or non-rhyming poetry? I prefer rhyming poetry.

2- What�s your favorite Shakespeare Play?� Actually, I don�t have a favorite Shakespeare Play.� I am more partial to modern shows.

3- Who is your favorite author?� I have many favorite authors that I follow.� I borrow or buy their new books as they come out.� One of my long time favorites is Alexander McCall Smith who writes the Number 1 Detective Series and a few other series as well.� I have read most of his books written for adults though not all those written for children.

4- Name three people who you greatly admire.

Honestly, my mother is the person I most admire.� I have to admit I didn�t always feel this way.� When I was a teen I thought mom led a boring life!� However as I married and had a family I found I modeled myself as a mother by the way she mothered us.� And later I again followed her model as I became a grandmother.� One of her sayings that I always think about was �Always be fair�.� Since I have a lot of children and grandchildren, I can�t splurge on any of them and have to spread out my spending to cover them all.� Her philosophy has guided me all my life.�

The second person I admire is my father.� Again, this has changed over the years, but I was always proud of him because without a high school education, he held a good career that supported our family and sent all 3 children to college.� He stayed with one company long enough to get a reasonable pension even when he started to hate the political parts of the job.� He has been retired many years yet still supports himself on his pension and the savings that mom and dad set aside all the years he was working.

The third person I admire is Mother Theresa because she is the best example I know of a caregiver.� I have been a caregiver for the past few years and I know how mentally and physically exhausting it can be.� Yet Mother Theresa gave all her life and never seemed to want to take a break from it.�

5- What�s your favorite album ever. �Most of the music albums I have are very old, since I replaced my LPs with CDs as the technology changed.� One new album I listen to many times in a week is not music at all � it is the sounds of the Ocean that plays for 60 minutes on 6 tracks.� It is called �Sleep Waves� by Calmsound and I purchased it in the iTunes store.� The time-tested album I still listen to since college (noting the changes in technology and probably musicians) is Beethoven Emperor Concerto, or (Concerto number 5)

6- Which primary color do you most dislike?�� My least favorite, at least in terms of clothing for myself would be yellow.�

7- Name a song or a poem that makes you feel emotional.

One song that always makes me tear up is �Sunrise, Sunset� from �Fiddler on the Roof�.� It is a constant reminder of the passage of time and even when I was much younger, it made me tear up.� Now it brings on the floods!

Now for my nominations:

I would nominate Terry1954 but since she was the one who nominated Camsgrammy, I will skip her this time around.

I have probably nominated most of the blogs I follow already for one award or another, but I may give some of them another nomination as I choose from among my favorites.� To any of my nominees, if the time is not right to devote to responding to this nomination, consider it to be an award without obligation.� To the others who can take the time for listing favorites, I ask that you do so as that is how I have found so many of my own favorites.

Thus, I will apologize that I will not nominate 5 bloggers at this time.� I have already nominated most of my favorite bloggers.� I refer you to them at Sunshine Award and One Lovely Blog Award; Beautiful Blogger and Versatile Blogger Award and The Sunshine Award.

In addition to the bloggers I listed on the above links, I would like to nominate these bloggers who also speak about the issues that I am facing.

Creating Life With Words” by Kate Swaffer is written by a woman who herself has early dementia.� She is one of the best sources of information about how it feels to deal with dementia and how to deal with the way people treat people with dementia.

She cleans up” is written by a young woman who is trying to help her parents clean up their hoarding home.

“In My Mother’s Room” is a book/blog in that it is written as chapters in a book.� It is written by a woman who cared for her mother in various health care settings and learned to love her mother for the woman she is, not the woman she wanted her to be.

Thanks again to Camsgrammy and Terre Mirsch

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Awards, Dementia, Eldercare, Hoarding and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Silver Quill Blogger Award: Thank You

  1. terry1954 says:

    a big congratulations to you my friend!!!!!!! i am so happy for you…………

  2. Pingback: Super Sweet Blogging Award | Let's Talk About Family

Leave a Reply

