Update on my experience with Medco-Express-Scripts


I have written in the past about my frustrating experiences with Medco (now Express-Scripts).  See “MEDCO-Express Scripts Merger and Personal Concerns”, “Medco Update – Good News!”, and “MEDCO – Another Hassle to Update Dad’s Account

Today I want to write about how much easier to work with them since I have gained access to dad’s account online.  Now I can look at his account any time I want to and I can see when his prescriptions are due for renewal.  I can see how many refills are left, and when each prescription was previously filled.

A few weeks ago I got an email from Medco (sometimes they call themselves Medco on one part of a communication and “Express-Scripts” on another.  They intermingle the names until the changeover is complete, I guess.)   In any case, the email notified me that dad’s medication was due to be renewed.  I checked online and determined which medication they were notifying me about.  I then told the aide at his assisted living facility that this renewal was due.

The timing of my request was a bit difficult because it turned out that the medication aide at dad’s assisted living facility was out for a few days and then she was not working there anymore.  I was told she had left to pursue more education in that field.

So, instead I talked to the person who would now be moving up to the position of medication aide.  D had been there for at least a year but now she was taking on new work responsibilities.  I spoke with D and reminded her that dad’s prescription needed to be renewed that week or he would run out.  She said she would do it that day.  I checked on-line that night, and the next night and the prescription had not been renewed.

The next time I was at the assisted living facility, I spoke with the new medication aide again.  I was hesitant to say anything but I did not want dad to run out of his medication.  This aide has seemed sensitive to criticism in the past, so I tried to be tactful.  I told her I usually am notified within a day when Medco gets a prescription renewal, and this time I had not heard anything.  I looked online and there was no indication they had gotten the renewal order.

She insisted she had called it in, and I just suggested that maybe with the change-over to Express Scripts, something got missed.  I mentioned that 2 other prescriptions were ready to be reordered any day also, so perhaps she should just call again and order all 3 of them.

I checked online again that evening.  This time she got it right, and also renewed the other 2 medications.   And I was also relieved when I got the email from Medco/Express-Scripts and the order was also listed on their web page.

I found it to be extremely helpful for me to have direct access to the status of all his orders online.  The medication manager would prefer me to change the address Medco/Express-Scripts has to their address, but I said no, that would not work for me.  Every time dad goes into the hospital or if he transfers to a nursing home, I would have to change his address.  Also now all official Medco/Express-Scripts correspondence goes to my home and I need it to stay that way.

A Medco representative told me 2 years ago that they keep only one address.  They are unable to use one address for shipping prescriptions and a different one for business correspondence.  I said in that case, I need it to always be my home address.  That way also, I will always know when the medications get here.  The only complication comes when I am on vacation.  Then my son has to pick up the medications at my house and take them to dad’s assisted living facility.  He did that last winter and will have to do it again the next time.

Still, I have found that since I am the person responsible for all dad’s care and financial obligations, I need to keep control of all correspondence too.  Bottom line though is that although I worried a lot about the merger of Medco with Express-Scripts, so far the end result still seems to be working for us.  I think that is very encouraging!

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Assisted Living Facility, Caregiving, Elder Care, Eldercare, Express-Scripts, Health Insurance, MEDCO and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Update on my experience with Medco-Express-Scripts

  1. terry1954 says:

    I am so happy that you got this straightened out, but i hate it that we the caregivers have to be so involved to the point that we have to tell them of reminders etc.

Leave a Reply

