Another Sunday Family Visit at the Assisted Living Facility


Today when I went to visit dad, my son and grandson were already there with him.  In addition, dad’s lady friend “Mary” was back seated by his side, and two other ladies were in the lounge too.  Little George was in his glory as he had lots of attention.

Dad’s friend, Mary, asked him if Georgie was his grandson.  He said no, George was his “great-grandson”.  He went on to explain that I was his daughter, and my son was his grandson.  I thought dad was pretty lucid in understanding what is what in the world around him.

I heard dad tell Mary how much he enjoys visits with “the little guy”.  I am so glad we all live near each other after so many years in other states!

As usual, George wanted to play with my iPad.  He asked for the video of Big Ben on New Year’s Eve as he loves to count down from midnight and watch the fireworks come out with each “bong” of the clock.  Georgie shouted boom with each hour as he watched.

When the ladies asked him questions, he played shy and hid behind his dad and refused to respond, though he did say hello and goodbye to everyone in the room.  It was a nice visit on another rainy day.  Dad was ready for lunch when they turned on the lights in the dining room.

Dad got right up to go to lunch.  Mary asked if he wasn’t going to stop and say goodbye to his family first.  Dad turned and said goodbye to each and then moved on towards the dining area.  Dad tends to get focused on his hunger and would forget to stop to say goodbye if he isn’t reminded.

As I stopped at the desk to sign out, I noticed that his friend, Mary, waited for him as he stopped off at the rest room before proceeding to the dining room.

I still don’t know how much dad sees Mary during the week as usually when I visit, Mary is with the “other man”.  Dad has never said anything about this relationship except that he likes it when she sits by him, so I don’t ask.  I guess I worry about him being disappointed each time she is with that other guy ;).

Just like parents worry about their children being hurt, so I also worry about dad!

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Assisted Living Facility, Caregiving, Dementia, Eldercare, Family, Lady Friend and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another Sunday Family Visit at the Assisted Living Facility

  1. terry1954 says:

    children bring out the best in the elderly……………i am so happy that you had a great visit!!!

  2. Pingback: An Incident Report – Assisted Living | Let's Talk About Family

Leave a Reply

