Sunday With Dad my Son and Grandson


Today I saw dad and brought him the items from his shopping list.  He was asleep in the lounge when I arrived.  But by the time I came back from stashing his groceries in his refrigerator dad was awake and talking to his grandson and great-grandson who had just arrived.

For some reason, little George was shy today and sat quietly by his dad for awhile.  He was excited though as he had seen snow flurries this morning.  He looked out the window and shouted: “It’s snowing!  It’s Christmas!”  His dad corrected him – “It is ALMOST Christmas.”  They had been listening to Christmas music just last night, so naturally the little one was primed and ready.

This will be a good year for Christmas because as a 3-year-old he will understand much more about what to expect, etc.  He has already started listing what he wants for his birthday, so he will be ready for Christmas too.

Georgie just experienced Halloween where he went to 7 houses in his Halloween costume and received candy.  While he did this last year also, he didn’t really remember it that well.  Now he was really excited to go to see the neighbors and to have candy as a result.  Life is so exciting when you are almost 3!

Dad just loves to see his great-grandson.  He perks up and becomes much more alert and aware when they are visiting him.  He smiles as my son and grandson watch videos on the cell phone though he can’t see what they are watching.

While they were watching videos, I showed dad pictures on my Ipad about more of the storm damage.  We looked at the pictures from Atlantic Beach where dad had been many times.  He couldn’t believe the pictures of the rides in the water.

I reminded dad that we had changed the clocks last night.  He didn’t seem extra hungry as a result of waiting an extra hour for lunch.  But I did remind him to reset his watch (which he did himself).  And then I went back to his room to reset all the clocks.  Dad does like to keep track of the date and time.  He has one atomic clock in the living room which is supposed to reset itself.  It tells the day of the week, the date and the time.  However for some reason, it had not reset itself!  I pushed some buttons to get it to reset the time and I will have to check it again next time.

I have a similar atomic clock myself and it had the right date and time this morning.  If dad’s doesn’t work right, I will bring him mine instead until I can get his working properly.  I think it is confusing to have the wrong time as he needs to know when to go to meals, etc.

As the weather suddenly turns very cold and the afternoons are much darker, I find myself worrying more about dad.  On the one hand, he is more active and social this year than he was last year.  On the other hand, he is a full year older and in his mid-90’s.  I don’t like to drive in the winter in almost any conditions where the light is not good or the roads are not dry.

And I am plagued with the memory of the last two Novembers which were both very difficult for our family.  November 2 years ago mom fell, spent 3 weeks in the hospital and passed away.  November last year dad had a sudden medical problem that hospitalized him for several weeks and then he was in a nursing home almost until the New Year.

Now it is November again and I find myself listening for the telephone to ring with bad news.  I feel like I am just being superstitious but I can’t get those fears out of my mind!  I know there is no logic to it, but I have to work to focus on other things and enjoy the time we have now.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Assisted Living Facility, Caregiving, Eldercare, great-grandson and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sunday With Dad my Son and Grandson

  1. terry1954 says:

    memories that trigger today. i live with them too for so many different times and places

  2. jmgoyder says:

    I’m a bit like this. I never remember my father’s b’day but I always remember the anniversary of his death.

    • I think it is ithe emotional times that stay with us. Mom died Thanksgiving night and Thanksgiving will never be the same! I lost my grandfather just before Christmas and I think abut it every year as Christmas approaches.

  3. boomer98053 says:

    I remember well the years of cringing each time the phone rang. I had the facility’s phone number programmed into my phone with a specific song so when I heard that song, I knew I was in for some not-so-great news from/or about my dad. But those days passed when my dad passed. I don’t get to hear that song anymore. Sad, but true.

    • Irene, I sure can relate. Mom called me so often the last yerar or two of her life that I still think of her first especially when the phone rings too early or late in the day. Dad’s facility calls sometimes about routine things but whenever I see that name pop up pm caller ID, i am afraid it means there is a problem. Luckily lately it has all been fairly routine, even when they called to tell me his electricity was out, it was not a crisis, just a heads up on what was happening.

Leave a Reply

