My Grandson’s New Car


I think I mentioned in an earlier post that I sold my old car to my grandson over the summer.  It wasn’t ancient, but was almost 20 years old.  I was afraid something would go wrong after he bought it even though I never had any problems with it.  It was a dependable car but after so many years, all of the safety features were out-of-date – especially the air bags which would have crushed me if they deployed.  Modern air bags are made to detect the size (short) of the driver and thus are not as dangerous.

Anyway, I hadn’t heard much about how the car was working out until I saw my family on Thanksgiving.  Then I heard that my grandson’s new car was the talk of the school where he attends.  He doesn’t go to a local school, so he has to drive himself (and thus his parents purchased him this car).

When my daughter attended parent’s night, the teacher said: “Oh, he’s the one with THE CAR!”  It turned out that my grandson’s “new” car is the talk of his school-mates.  His car has windows that can be closed even when the car is turned off because it has “roll-up handles”!  And, equally as impressive – his car has “the drawer”.  I looked at my daughter and asked “What drawer?”  Oh, that would be what we used to call the “ashtray”!

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Eldercare, First Car, Misc., New Car and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Grandson’s New Car

  1. Thanks, Julie. Kids are funny. It reminded me of the fun some of my other grandchildren had with my old typewriter. It seemed to be much more fun that a computer and printer!

Leave a Reply

