Planning Ahead for Peace of Mind While I am Out of Town


Shortly after the Holidays I will be leaving to go south for awhile.  I did the same thing last year, using paid companions to check on dad while I was gone.  Dad is in assisted living, so theoretically someone is always there to take care of him.

However, in his Assisted Living Facility (ALF), dad is only one of 45 plus people.  I wanted to have someone who focused just on dad if there were any problems.  For instance, last year there was a stomach bug that went through the assisted living facility on several occasions.  It was bad enough that the facility quarantined itself.

While some of the companions were hesitant to go visit dad while there was a quarantine posted, the nurse companion was willing to go back several times to check on dad and reassure me that he was really fine.

I am lucky that the same 3 companions are available to visit dad again this year.  I have spoken with all of them and arranged the days they will be visiting dad.  This week two of the companions will be visiting dad to re-acquaint themselves with him.

The first companion, PC, visited dad this morning.  She talked to him for awhile and showed him her cell phone which must have been a smart phone as he didn’t know what it was.  She called me on that phone so dad could see it and had him talk to me.  She told me that dad did recognize her even though she had not visited him since last March.

Frankly I was impressed!  Dad’s dementia is a slow progression type but he still doesn’t remember things like what he had for lunch and what activities he did yesterday.  But he did remember PC.

All of the companions have great friendly personalities and are pleasant to be with.  I think their friendly personalities and the fact that they give dad their undivided attention for an hour or two each week made it easier for dad to remember them.

I am very much encouraged by this week’s visit and feel that much closer to my vacation in the sun!  I still have a lot to do to get ready, but I don’t feel the great weight of concern that I felt last year at this time.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Assisted Living Facility, Caregiving, Companion, Elder Care, Eldercare and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Planning Ahead for Peace of Mind While I am Out of Town

  1. terry1954 says:

    You enjoy your trip. All will be alright with such great help!

  2. Kathy says:

    I’m glad you have peace of mind. It is important that our loved ones are taken care of while we are away. People make more of a lasting impression than what we had for lunch. Safe Travels.

  3. Thanks, Kathy. I agree the people did make more of a lasting impression. Still I was surprised that dad remembered her from 9 months ago.

  4. sharechair says:

    Sounds like you everything in place and can feel comfortable when you are away. And it is IMPORTANT to get away, for both of you. 🙂

  5. Cindy Marie says:

    Wow, you are a great example of someone willing to go the extra mile to make sure your dad is comfortable and well cared for. It’s sad to see those that don’t have the support you provide. I hope that everything went smoothly with your vacation and more so your fathers care. Assisted living really can be a great benefit, especially when you just need that time to yourself (which everyone does). Thank you for sharing and bring a sense of love to the Assisted living care workers.

    • Thanks, Cindy. I didn’t want to imply that the assisted living staff weren’t doing their jobs. It is just that there he is one of about 45 residents whereas when I am with him he gets one on one attention. The companions focus on just him and report to me so I can feel like I have eyes and ears there. Also they will take him out to lunch as I do regularly and if he wants anything like his Pepsi and cheese, they can shop for him also. Thanks for coming to my blog.

Leave a Reply

