Dad’s Socks


Frequently when I visit dad at his Assisted Living Facility, he is wearing his shoes but his socks are in the basket of his walker instead of on his feet.  One day last week he had 4 pair of socks in his walker basket and none on his feet!  I usually ask dad if he wants to put his socks on and he says no and then I put them into the laundry basket.

Yesterday when I arrived at the assisted living facility dad was sitting in the lounge.  Again he had his socks in the walker basket instead of on his feet.  This time I asked him: “Dad, why did you take your socks off?”

He replied: “The ladies rub my feet.”  Oh, all of a sudden it hit me.  “Are they putting the cream on your feet?” I asked?  Yes, that was it!  The fact is that dad had an itchy rash on his feet, months ago, and the doctor had prescribed a cream for it.  After awhile it came back and I pointed it out to the nurse again.

Now I guess the protocol is just to put the cream (like a moisturizer, not really medicated) on his feet every day.  I suspect the aides find dad wherever he is, such as in the lounge, when they are ready to apply the cream.  After they apply the cream, dad must refuse to put his socks back on, so they put them in the basket of his walker.

Mystery solved!  Now how do I get him to wear socks the rest of the day?  Or does it matter anyway?  It isn’t cold in his room or in the lobby.  I suspect I will just leave things as they are.  Sometimes when I think that dad has developed a strange habit, it turns out there is a logical reason for it.

I suppose I should have asked him sooner, instead of wondering for months why dad wasn’t wearing socks!

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Assisted Living Facility, Caregiving, Dementia, Elder Care, Eldercare and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dad’s Socks

  1. terry1954 says:

    if it is warm inside and he is not going outside of the facility, i don’t think it hurts him to not wear socks. i would keep good tabs on the slipper or shoes as that cream is also soaking into the souls of the footwear, which in turn after awhile may cause a fungus

  2. Yes, I decided I wouldn’t worry about the lack of socks. You are right, Terry except I think the cream is put on the top of his foot and the ankle so it shouldn’t be as bad. The rash was actually around the ankle and for awhile it went part of the way up his leg. I think it was from dry skin because he keeps his room so warm. Thankfully they are keeping a closer eye on it now as it got pretty bad last December.

  3. jmgoyder says:

    I often visit Anthony and find he isn’t wearing socks either! It is still a mystery and I always put them on him.

Leave a Reply

