I Hope That Snow Keeps Up!


When I was young I loved snow and outside winter activities.  Dad didn’t care for snow at all.  I suspect he didn’t like the traffic mess that resulted whenever it snowed in their metropolitan area.  One day dad said: “I hope that snow keeps up!”

I asked dad why he hoped the snow keeps up since he didn’t even like snow.  “Because”, he said: “If it keeps up, then it won’t come down!”

Well, now I feel like daddy always felt.  We are having a snowstorm and I keep hoping the snow will keep “up” so it won’t come down!  I hate to drive on snow.  I now hate the cold weather and the winter activities too.  I am afraid of falling on slippery sidewalks and streets as I have done so in the past.

Now dad is safe in his Assisted Living Facility.  He doesn’t have to drive to work or shopping or anything else.  He is often not even aware of the weather as he spends all day either in his sitting room or in the lounge.

He asks me “How’s the weather?” when I visit him, but I doubt he remembers my answer if I tell him it is cold or hot.

Now I worry though.  I want to be able to visit dad and I don’t want to drive on the snowy roads.  We have had a mild winter so far and I have been able to drive to see dad every time I wanted to.  Now that may be changing.

I will ask my son to pick me up tomorrow as he always goes to visit dad on Sundays anyway.  Snow is predicted from today right through next week, though the heaviest snow is expected today.  If I need to I will ask my son to take me to see dad on Christmas as well.  I stayed here in the north through the holidays so that I could spend Thanksgiving and Christmas with my family.

Next month I will leave for the warmer climate of the south and hope not to return until the cold weather is about done here.

My children have been here for many years and don’t mind driving on snowy roads.  I have personally had some bad experiences on slippery roads and avoid them whenever I can.  I am glad I will soon be leaving, but I do want to enjoy my time with my family while I am here.

So while the snow is beautiful, and everyone except me seemed to really want a “White Christmas”, I will spend most of my time indoors.  I will get rides to visit with dad and to get to family activities.  Dad doesn’t like to attend the family activities because they last too long and there is too much activity going on around him.  He is happy to have them visit him a few at a time.

I hope you are all getting the weather you want for the holidays – or at least weather you can deal with.  I hope the trips are safe, your flights are not cancelled and the roads remain open so you can spend time with your families too.

And if I don’t get back to my blog again, I want to be sure to say: “Have a Very Merry Christmas, and a Very Happy and Healthy New Year!

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Assisted Living Facility, Caregiving, Elder Care, Eldercare, Family, Inclement Weather, Memories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Hope That Snow Keeps Up!

  1. terry1954 says:

    I told my brother I won’t be coming to visit when the snow falls. It makes me feel sad but I hate driving in the snow let alone being out in the cold. Have a Merry Christmas

Leave a Reply

