Snow Days Make Caregiving Difficult!


Snow is pretty on the trees but not in the road

Snow is pretty on the trees but not in the road

When I went in to visit dad the other day he was sitting in the lounge as he often is.  The television was running non-stop.  There was a Snow Advisory and that was all they were talking about.  I guess dad was paying some attention this time as he greeted me with: “There is going to be a lot of snow!”

I kissed dad and said hello and told him I knew the snow was coming.  It may be awhile before I get here again I told him.  He knows I don’t like to drive on snow and he was OK with that.  We had a nice visit and I brought him snacks as usual.  I put his things in his room as I also brought in more Depends.  I never talk about it; I just put it away in his closet and bureau.  I buy the Depends online so I can get a good price and I get a lot at once delivered right to my house.

I told dad I didn’t know when I would be there again but thought I could get there on Sunday either with my son or my daughter.  Then I went home to meet my daughter and drove with her family to our big family Christmas party.  It was the 3rd day of Christmas celebrations as now the out of town children and grand children would be there.

We had a nice celebration with lots of food and presents.  The children were all excited to be with their cousins and with the promise of snow on the way.  The snow started before dinner and didn’t end until the next day.

I went home with my son and his family.  Thank goodness he has lots of experience with this area and the awful weather.  The weather forecast was for 6 to 18 inches of snow and the roads were treacherous.  Not only were the side streets unplowed, but the main streets and even the freeway looked untouched by salt trucks or plows.  It was a slow drive home.

In the end, we got over a foot of snow as did most of our general area.  I haven’t been any further than the mailbox since.  Luckily our neighborhood has a contract for snow plows.  They even shovel our walks and clear our driveways.  They are good when they come, but they didn’t come until almost noon on the day the snow stopped.  And they haven’t come back since, so things are pretty icy now wherever cars drove on snow.

Yesterday we just had light snow so I got out to shovel a wider pathway on my driveway.  The plows just pull the snow back so leave about 6 inches still on the ground.  I like to get it shoveled to bare pavement so maybe the sun will dry a spot and leave me a safe path without ice.  I put down lots of salt on my walkway and the little path down the driveway so had a safe walk until I hit the icy street.

Today I woke up to steady snow.  We expect 3 to 6 inches out of this one and it just depresses me.  I can see the next week’s forecast is for light snow every day and temperatures below freezing for the foreseeable future.  Naturally I keep myself going with visions of my trip to the south.  It won’t come soon enough for me!

New snow on old snow

New Snow On Old Snow

I am glad I already arranged for the companions to start seeing dad in the days after I leave.  Now I am going to occupy myself by pulling out summer clothes and deciding what to bring with me.  I still have more than a week of snow and cold weather before I go, but it will lift my spirits to just imagine myself on the beach again!

My daughter will go with me to visit dad tomorrow.  She wants to give him her Christmas gift and visit him too.  We will meet my son and grandson there.  I am trying to get everything in place before I leave.  I talked to the Assisted Living Facility Director yesterday after I emailed her dad’s prescription card for next year.  I have to assure myself that all his medications and over-the-counter medications will come as usual.  Generally I get those myself and bring them in, but I arranged for them to come from a local pharmacy.

For myself I also still have medical issues to solve.  I spoke with the cardiologist yesterday and adjusted my medications.  I have to pick up new ones and get blood tests done in the next week.  If there is too much snow, my daughter will take me.  I hate to be such a burden on them and that is another reason I leave for the winter.  It is just more than I can deal with!

I haven’t discussed my trip with dad in much detail yet, but I did mention that the same companions would visit him this year as last year.  I will wait till the last time I see him before I tell him when I am leaving and returning.  I know he gets lonely but I think he is doing so much better this year than last.

It is a relief to know that dad is now participating in activities at his ALF and staying out in the television lounge much of the day.  His appetite is fussy but the staff is working to have meals that he is willing to eat.  My children are nearby and I know my son will be visiting almost every weekend in addition to the 3 companions that visited him last year.

Now if the snow would just stop so I could shop and go to the library and do small errands — that would be wonderful.  But whether it stops or not, I will be leaving for the sunny south soon and that lifts my spirits!

I expect I will be writing again before the end of the year, but if I don’t catch you again, do have a safe and happy New Year!

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Assisted Living Facility, Caregiving, Dementia, Elder Care, Eldercare, Family, Inclement Weather and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Snow Days Make Caregiving Difficult!

  1. From here in Texas, the snow is beautiful. Have a safe and relaxing trip to the south. Best wishes to you and your dad in the New Year.

  2. terry1954 says:

    have fun in the south! your dad will be fine with all the added help. enjoy yourself. I went to see Al today. When I read your post I think it is me I am talking about. I take snacks and pop and visit if the snow doesn’t keep me home. I just hate driving on it

  3. Teresa Cleveland Wendel says:

    The snow does get tiresome, but at least you’ll soon be heading for the sunny south.

Leave a Reply

