And the sun came out


We have about 2 feet of snow on the ground though the main streets are pretty clear.  Melting snow keeps the streets wet enough to freeze into a layer of ice overnight.  I am hesitant to drive at all though if I had to I probably could – at least today.  The other day we had steady snow all day again, but this time only 5 to 6 inches.

My daughter and son drive anyway.  They have to in order to work.  My daughter picked me up and took me to visit dad yesterday.  My son had spent an hour digging out his driveway and I guess using the snowblower as well.  He was too tired after that to come for the weekly visit.

Still, daughter and I had a nice visit with dad.  She gave him his Christmas gift – a nice flannel shirt that I hope he will wear!  I hung it in his closet.  We visited about an hour as I usually do.  Daughter has a harder time with these visits as it is hard to get dad to have a conversation.  His hearing isn’t very good and he asks what you just said after almost every comment.  I think he tunes out as well, so comments seem to take him by surprise.

She said she would try to visit dad while I am away, but these stilted conversations make her hesitant to go over.  My son usually brings his 3-year old which makes for easier conversations as everyone is focused on the activities of the 3-year-old.

Then my daughter took me to the library so I could drop off all my books.  I hadn’t read them all but with snow forecast for almost every day; I decided to return them while I was able to.  My daughter had some paperbacks to loan me so that should last at least a week.

I am still getting used to this climate.  They seem to have 50 ways to say it will snow.  They predict light snow flurries, snow flurries, light snow showers, snow showers, snow, heavy snow, a “wintry mix”, etc.  And then it gets more complicated as the week’s forecast says something like light snow flurries this morning turning to snow showers this afternoon and then snow overnight.  Tomorrows may be a wintry mix followed by snow showers tapering to light snow.

Enough already!  How do you turn off the snow machine?  I have been shoveling about an hour each day to keep a path from my garage to the mailbox across the street.  Today I even shoveled the top foot and a half off the lawn so I could reach the bird feeder.  The deer finally made footprints overnight and reached the suet I had hanging near the cleared off sidewalk though even they couldn’t get to the seed hopper above 2 feet of snow.

I need to get out later in the week to pick up prescriptions, have a blood test, etc.  My daughter will be coming to help me clean and will drive me if the weather keeps me from driving myself.  I want to visit dad once or twice this week as well.  I feel there is extra stress on me because I feel guilty when I don’t get over to see dad.  Dad understands that I don’t like to drive on the snow, but he barely knows the snow has fallen.

Dad doesn’t look out the windows or make any attempt to go outside.  He has windows near his bed but often he doesn’t open the shades.  I can’t understand how he could be happy just sitting inside all day every day, but he is.  Thankfully he does take part in some activities now.  But that still doesn’t orient him to the world outside the building.

I did remind him that his companions will start coming soon.  He remembered the name of the one that he saw 2 weeks ago.  He is not as nervous about my plans to travel as he was last year and that is a relief!  Still, I woke up worried this morning about his health.  If anything happens to dad, then I won’t be able to travel.

And if I don’t get away from all this snow….  I don’t know.  I did deal with it when my children were younger.  But I was younger too.  And I left to live in a milder climate because two severe winters in the 70’s were too much for me.

I hear very little from my siblings.  They rarely call dad, and it is even rarer for him to answer the telephone.  They don’t worry about him.  I will take care of everything.  I wish I felt more supported in this!

I really don’t want to end this last post of the year without wishing all of you a Very Happy New Year and a great  2013.  There is a great video on You-Tube that my grandson loves to watch.  It is the ringing in of the New Year 2012 in London with fireworks coming out of Big Ben.  The crowd roars and the fireworks blast out and grandson yells “Kaboom” with each bong of the clock.  For each of you, I wish the same excitement and fun for New Years Eve and the year to come.  Kaboom!

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Assisted Living Facility, Caregiving, Dementia, Elder Care, Eldercare, Inclement Weather and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to And the sun came out

  1. The 50 ways to say snow made me laugh. I’m glad you are on your way to somewhere warm. Your dad sounds like he will be in good hands while you’re gone. Best wishes to you in 2013.

  2. Teresa Cleveland Wendel says:

    Your snow description made me smile.
    I don’t drive in the snow either.

  3. terry1954 says:

    for the first time, I am not seeing my brother for a few days. Usually I go every other day. I was there Saturday and won’t go back until Wednesday. I called him and asked if it will be alright and he said yes. It is snowing and so cold, but Wednesday I have a doctor appointment and have to get out. I feel so much guilt in not going for a few days. I can barely get through the guilt. I don’t know why I feel this way

    • It is hard, isn’t it? Even when they are OK with it, we feel the guilt. I know my siblings are doing less, but I worry that I am not doing enough. Today it isn’t snowing, but it is very windy and cold. I just saw dad yesterday so didn’t try today. I need to wait till after the new year for my prescriptions, but still I felt like I “should” go out since I “could
      today and maybe it will be harder tomorrow. Still, it is important to take care of ourselves. We can’t do more if we slip on the ice and break a bone! Take it one day at a time, and I will try to do the same. 😉

      • terry1954 says:

        I think we think alike in this area. I think about my car, and the driving on snow and ice. one thing in my favor, my brother knows how much i hate to drive in the winter, so i think he really understands, but still…………

Leave a Reply

