Visiting Dad and Planning to Get Away on Vacation


I hate to plan my days around the weather, but lately I have had little choice.  In addition to the over 2 feet of snow that remained on the ground (old snow condensed but new snow built upon it), we had some extremely cold temperatures, low teens at night and twenties in the daytime.  I am a cold weather wimp and tried to stay indoors.

Wednesday I was able to get out and visit dad despite the light snow falling — which was supposed to stop.  We had a nice visit but then I rushed home as it turned out the snow was getting heavier.  We had 5 inches total and I didn’t drive again for days.

I reminded dad that I would be leaving soon and told him I would visit again one more time before I left.  I gave some information to the ALF director about contacts while I am away and filled dad’s kitchen with snacks and Pepsi.

I had spoken with my physician earlier in the week, before New Year’s Day, and she was to call in a new prescription for me.  There were delays due to the holiday but my prescription was finally called in on Wednesday.  I picked it up on the way home from visiting dad.  Now I had one more task that had to be done before I left.

My doctor wanted me to have another blood test before I left.  The roads were icy each morning and I was hesitant to get on the road.  My daughter came one day to help me around the house but it was too soon for my blood test.  Yesterday, her husband came and took me to the lab for my blood test.  Thank goodness, that was finally done.  I am so lucky to have family nearby!

I spent the week trying to re-organize my house.  I took down Christmas decorations and packed them away for another year.  I started to pack a suitcase and extra bag for my trip south.  I started very early so I would have time to remember forgotten items and add them before I left.

My friends are driving to the same location so they will take one bag for me in their car.  I gave them things I was unwilling to send in my checked-in suitcase – my laptop, my camera and my prescriptions and a few other items.  The friend even picked up my bag as the road was covered with several inches of new snow when it was time for me to take it over.  Now I haven’t left yet, but my things are on their way south!

I have written up lists of phone numbers and instructions to leave with my son, my neighbor, the assisted living facility and dad’s companions.  I still have a lot of loose ends around the house that need to be tied up.  But soon I will be on my way.

Dad doesn’t seem as worried about missing me this year.  He is busier with his friends and activities now and I am a lot less worried as well.  Still, in the back of my mind each day, I wonder if I will make it the whole time as planned or if I will have to rush home for an emergency.  I can’t stop planning to do activities, but I do have to be ready for contingencies.

Still, the snow piles in my front yard are taller than I am and I am so ready to go!  I know I will miss dad and my family but I have to get away from the winter weather.  We expect a “January thaw” next week, after I leave, but everyone knows the snow and cold weather will return.  So, I leave with mixed feelings, fear I will have to hurry home, relief that I am finally getting away and fatigue from running around all week trying to get ready!

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Assisted Living Facility, Caregiving, Dementia, Elder Care, Eldercare, Inclement Weather and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Visiting Dad and Planning to Get Away on Vacation

  1. terry1954 says:

    have a wonderful winter!

  2. camsgranny says:

    Enjoy your time, and enjoy being away from the snow!!!

    • Thanks. I look forward to seeing the snow from the airplane as I fly away! Actually they expect above freezing weather next week and the old snow will melt but then I expect we will get new snow so I would just as soon miss the whole thing!

  3. boomer98053 says:

    If as busy people, we keep writing things to do on our list – we’ll never accomplish them all. A growing list is a list that’s too long. I hope you are able to enjoy your time away and that you don’t sit on the edge of your seat waiting for something to go wrong, as announced by an unwelcome phone call.
    Please relax and take care of yourself. You deserve it..

    • Thanks, Irene. I am actually walking along the beach and relaxing like I haven’t since last year. The sun and the waves make me feel like I am in another world! It is wonderful. I haven’t had time for my blog since I got here except in short spurts on the iPad though. I am so glad I could get away for awhile.

Leave a Reply

