Caregiving from a Distance


Now that I am in the warm sunny South, I have to keep up with dad via the telephone and Internet.  I found myself so relaxed the first few days that I almost forgot to call dad.  We have afternoon activities by the pool some days and I enjoy the relaxed atmosphere.

The other day I realized I hadn’t spoken with dad recently so I called him after my afternoon by the pool.  It was 3 PM and I woke dad up.  I apologized and asked dad if he was sleeping.  He said no, he was “resting” but he had to be up soon anyway to go to Happy Hour at 4.  I have heard that he never misses Happy Hour and I guess he keeps track of that.

He is allowed up to 2 drinks per day though I think he never has more than one.  He likes a bit of Scotch though I often find the remains of his drink in his refrigerator.  He also enjoys the popcorn that they serve at that time and lately he has been helping to make the popcorn as well (and eating it while making it).

I asked dad how everything was going and he said fine.  I asked if he remembered seeing the companions and he wasn’t sure.  He thought one of them had come that he remembered for sure.  One of the others has already emailed that she saw him on Thursday.  It comforts me to know they are visiting when I am so far away.

My son and grandson also visited dad this morning, so I know dad is doing fine.  Dad really enjoys those weekly visits and my grandson does also.

I somehow forgot to call my home voice mail for a few days.  Today when I called I had 3 messages waiting – all about prescriptions – 2 for dad and one for me.  My prescription was supposed to be mailed here but they forgot and called me to pick it up.  I called and they will mail it tomorrow.

Dad’s calls were both from Medco (Express-Scripts though the messages said Medco) and were somewhat confusing.  I called back and got a bit of a run-around even though I am listed as dad’s Personal Representative.  Eventually they gave me the information I needed but not before transferring me 3 times and making me repeat the same information about dad’s insurance numbers, birth date, etc.  They said they were calling to confirm the mailing address but they don’t usually do that.  I hope it isn’t a new habit as it is a pain in the neck!

My son forwarded my mail yesterday as well.  He said it was mostly bills.  I will probably get that package tomorrow.  Paying bills is my least favorite part of caregiving, but since it is necessary, I just have to do it!

I will say that I am really enjoying my time in the sun.  It only took 3 days for my fingers to heal from the eczema that I always get from the cold dry winters in the north.  After wearing band aids to bed for months to cover the cuts and irritated skin, finally my hands are just fine.  If they could only put that cure in a jar!

In addition to our activities by the pool, I spend my time taking walks on the beach or in the neighborhood to the grocery store and other stores.  I love to be able to go out without a heavy coat!  And the sound and view of the waves coming to the shore never fails to relax me!

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Assisted Living Facility, Caregiving, Dementia, Elder Care, Eldercare, Express-Scripts, MEDCO and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Caregiving from a Distance

  1. terry1954 says:

    that is what I miss about Florida, the winters. being back in Indiana is terrible. like today……I was to go to a water exercise class, but it is frigid and icey, so I stayed home. Miss the Fl. sunshine

  2. jmgoyder says:

    It sounds wonderful!

    • It is pretty wonderful. But I keep reminding myself not to forget dad. Every time i call my home voice mail there is another message though thankfully not directly about dad. It is about his medications or my medications or my credit card company checking to verify the charges. It just keeps bringing me back to the world of responsibility instrad of relax in the sun world. I just try to fit in both and keep a balance!

  3. It sounds like you are having a lovely time on your well-deserved holiday. Walks on the beach. I don’t think there’s anything better.

Leave a Reply

