Blogging and Caregiving from a Distance


I have not been successful in writing for my blog much this week. I was surprised and pleased to learn that the owner of my condo had installed a wireless system which I would be able to use. In past years I either had to pay to have cable installed or work with a neighbor to skate off his wireless system.

However, this turned out to be a mixed blessing as the wireless system is a cellular system of a type I have never used before. It took an afternoon to get set up and kept kicking me off the connection. It took several days before it seemed to stabilize or I finally figured out how to keep it happy.

Then, instead of wireless problems, I began having computer problems. My laptop isn’t used very often when I am at home. Thus the first 4 days when I tried to start writing, my computer insisted on updating various software first.

First I had thirteen “important” updates I had to do for Windows, even though I just did updates last week at home in preparation for using the laptop here. It takes longer to download files here as my wireless connection is slower. Thus it took my whole evening just to get the updates done.

Then the next night, WordPress gave me messages that my browser was out of date. I updated it. Then it was still out of date, and the following night I updated it again. Two new versions in two nights! In the meantime I had tried other browsers but they were all from last year and also out of date.

By the time I had the latest version of Explorer, I had all my settings changed, even though I had tried to keep them the same. I was so protected from evil that I couldn’t even open some important web pages. I worked two nights to get my settings adjusted so I could conduct some business online.

The last time I wrote, I had spoken with dad and received an email from my son about dad. I was a bit nervous though that I had not yet had email 2 of dad’s companions. I trust and respect them but I guess there is a part of me that needs to have constant feedback that everything is all right.

Last weekend after not hearing anything, I emailed all 3 companions. The nurse emailed back within a short time to say she had seen dad in the lounge one day and he looked very good. Two days later I heard from the second companion and she told me she had visited dad and he needed a shave.

That didn’t surprise me though I would rather he got shaved on schedule. Dads still puts off his shower and shave whenever he can and the aide who was most successful at shaving him left the assisted living facility about 5 months ago. I know dad is happy and healthy without his regular shower and shave, but I feel that he looks better when he has both. I guess I want it for my sake as well as (or even more than) his own.

The second companion also told me that the 3 companions (including the nurse) had spoken together and agreed to co-ordinate their visits so that if one couldn’t make it on the scheduled day, another would go in her place. That way dad still gets seen Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday each week and the women have some flexibility. I am pleased with that as I like all 3 very much and it is good to know they are willing to work together as necessary.

My son and grandson will continue to visit on Sunday, so dad gets as many visits as before, or even more as I had cut back some during the past year.

Today I heard from the third companion. I knew it would take her longer as she doesn’t like the computer and is sure the computer doesn’t like her either. (After this week, I feel the same way about mine!) She was planning to see dad today and bring him his snacks. He tends to mix up the names of the companions, but he is glad to have them visit him.

Being on vacation, I don’t have a schedule or plan for each day as I usually do. I got up this morning with several goals – write some on my blog, walk on the beach, go to lunch with a group of ladies, and get some grocery shopping done.

I booted up the computer and immediately it stopped my progress. The computer insisted that it hadn’t had a virus scan in a month and I had to do that right away. I started the scan and that slowed down everything else. I left the computer scanning itself while I went upstairs to get organized.

I looked out the window and the beach was calling me! I packed up my gear for a walk along the beach and scolded my computer to hurry and finish the scan so I could shut it down. I don’t like to leave the laptop running when I am not there because the plug gets so hot.

Anyway, I finished the scan and went to the beach. I had a wonderful walk along the beach. I didn’t linger as much as I would have liked as I wanted time to get ready for our lunch out. About 12 of us went to a local restaurant.

After lunch, my friend and I went grocery shopping and by the time I returned from there it was mid afternoon. I had time to go back to the beach, but I was too tired. I read for awhile and then prepared my dinner.

So now I am pretty caught up. I thought I could just sit down and write on my computer without fighting it first. (But then as I attempted to post this my Word program crashed twice and then WordPress froze up. I still have some work to do on this!)

However, I have become better at remembering to call my home voice mail at least once a day so I don’t feel I am missing anything. And I continue to enjoy my days in the sun.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Assisted Living Facility, Caregiving, Companion, Computer, Elder Care, Eldercare and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Blogging and Caregiving from a Distance

  1. terry1954 says:

    this would all be so frustrating but i like your calm attitude. so glad you got out and had some fun

    • It is frustrating. I’m glad I can get out and walk when I get stressed like that. If I were home in the north, I would be pacing around the house if I thought it was too cold to walk outside. Walking works best for stress relief for me, and nothing beats the beach for that!

  2. jmgoyder says:

    Argh! (re the computer stuff)

Leave a Reply

