Dad’s Visit with his Companion


Last evening I got an email from one of dad’s companions who had visited him earlier in the day.  He was sitting in the lounge when she arrived and when she said hello, he responded with “Hi [name of another companion]” and then he started laughing.  He gets a kick out of calling two of them by each other’s names.  I’m not sure what he calls the nurse.

The companion brought him the snacks I usually bring him, so he got up and they walked to his room to put his pop in the refrigerator.  She somehow got dad to take a walk around the building which he usually won’t do unless he has a destination on the other side.  He got up to walk and asked her to push him in a wheelchair.

He doesn’t have a wheelchair and usually there aren’t any spare ones around but he must have seen one in the hall.  The companion and one of the aides started to laugh and he did too.  She told him she wasn’t going to fall for that and he would walk and he did.

She brought checkers but he didn’t want to play.  He had told her in the past that he “played checkers” which may have been true at one time, but now he doesn’t usually play anything.  He said he would be willing to play bingo if she brought it, but I bet he doesn’t do that either.  Mom used to go to bingo at their senior mobile home community for years and dad never went with her.

Anyway, they had a nice conversation and she told him she would send him an email if he gave her his email address which he did.  He didn’t mention that he never turns on his computer nor does he have an Internet connection!  He is probably not aware of that since he never tries to use it and hasn’t since it was disconnected last year.  In fact, I had it disconnected because he never used it.

She said she enjoyed the visit and knew dad liked to call her by the name of Companion B instead of her own, though at the end he did call her by his own name.

She said dad’s room was very messy and asked if she should pick it up a bit or leave it for housekeeping.  I emailed back that the cleaning should be done by their staff but in fact they only do it once a week and he doesn’t like to be there when they clean or vacuum.  I said I usually clean up his sink and wash dirty dishes and put the newspaper in the trash.  But if the bathroom needs a lot of attention, I tell the staff at the ALF and ask them to take care of it.

Dad does enjoy his visits from these companions and luckily they enjoy being with him too.  I think it is good for him to interact with other people and it helps me to get another viewpoint on how he is doing.

The best part is that while dad was enjoying his visit with his companion, I was at the beach!

beach 2013 by LTAF

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Assisted Living Facility, Caregiving, Companion, Dementia, Elder Care, Eldercare and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dad’s Visit with his Companion

  1. terry1954 says:

    so glad everyone is happy including you!

  2. camsgranny says:

    Am glad Dad is having a good time, and your on the beach sigh…wish I was there too! 🙂

    • It is wonderful. Even when I am at home but under stress, i mentally “go to the beach” to relax my mind. I could be at the dentist or on a bus, but if I imagine myself on the beach, I relax more. Now it is real, for awhile anyway, and it is great. My blood pressure has come down 10 pointd since I got here. 🙂

  3. Ahhhh the beach! Good for you!

  4. Pingback: Learning More about Dad | Let's Talk About Family

Leave a Reply

