Winter Vacation — Computer Problems and Talking to Dad


I haven’t written this week due to computer problems. My computer is crashing in the midst of a Word document as I write. It is very frustrating, and I lose my train of thought. In addition, I was synchronizing my iPad and the iTunes wanted me to update many applications. At first, I clicked on “update all” and it gave me a message that it would take “1 day”. I let it update as many as it could in the evening and then I closed the program.

The next night I just updated one application which was quite large. I think the wireless connection I have here is very slow but it did update that application in 4 hours – which was my whole evening! I don’t use the computer while it is downloading updates as it just slows everything down.

I have to admit I feel a bit lazy since I came to my vacation condo. The weather at home has been terrible with temperatures at night in the single digits and highs in the day have been only in the teens. Add to that some snow, and I am so thankful to be here and not there.

I find myself saying extra prayers for dad – for God to keep him well not only for dad, but also so that I won’t have to return home during the terribly cold weather! For I know that even if I were at home now, I wouldn’t be visiting dad much as I don’t like to go out when it is so cold and nasty! I feel so selfish, but I sure don’t want to have to go home!

I called dad yesterday and woke him up again! It was 3 in the afternoon and he was napping in his recliner. I had to work at it to just keep him on the phone for 3 minutes. He asked when I was coming home, as he usually does, and I gave a vague answer as I don’t like to make it sound like such a long time. He commented that it would be “a long time” and I said I was waiting for the temperatures to warm up there.

He said it wasn’t that cold and I said: “Twelve degrees, dad?” Oh, he said, it didn’t bother him as he doesn’t go out that much. I laughed and told him I was waiting until warmer weather before I came home. In the meantime he has the companions coming most days and my son and grandson on weekends. He is mostly OK with that, but I know he misses me and I miss him too.

I don’t like to wish away my beautiful warm vacation, but I would also like to be home (in warmer weather) where I would have access to my car and be able to visit dad many times a week. He is really doing better this year and missing me less, but I still feel like I am shirking my duty by being away. Then I remind myself that my brother and sister neither visit dad nor feel bad about not visiting. That helps a little, but I will be glad to return home to dad and my normal routine.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Caregiving, Computer, Dementia, Elder Care, Eldercare, Vacation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Winter Vacation — Computer Problems and Talking to Dad

  1. terry1954 says:

    I can understand your feelings. I am just glad that the companions are visiting him. Don’t feel bad, you will be home soon enough. Enjoy your time

  2. Enjoy your vacation. Everyone needs time off to recharge. This will allow you to better be there for your dad. Rested with lots of renewed energy to give of yourself. I want to read of another walk on the beach.

  3. camsgranny says:

    I agree with all of the above, while I know you want to be here, we all need time to relax, recharge, and renew. Enjoy your time, on the beach in the sun, it must be working, your blood pressure shows it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

