Vacation for the Caregiver


When I called dad this week he did not answer the telephone. I called the front desk to make sure everything was OK after the snowstorm. I was told that they had “a lot of snow” but everything was fine and they never lost electricity. I asked about dad and was told he was in the dining room having a late breakfast. It was 10 AM.

I called dad in the afternoon and woke him up. He was “resting” in his recliner as usual. He was aware they had a lot of snow but it didn’t bother him as he had no plans to go out. He did want to know when I was coming home. I told him it will be “after the snow melts”. Actually I haven’t set a date yet, but certainly not while it is still snowing!

Dad told me about his visits with his companions. One had brought him more snacks. He said he was well stocked and didn’t need any more. Another played cards with him. He said he really enjoys that though he couldn’t remember whether they played in the lounge or in his room. I was trying to figure out the logistics since he doesn’t have a table in his room nor is there one in the lounge. I do think I will bring cards when I visit him in the future.

I asked dad about his cold. It is over a week since the first companion cued me in on his cold. The second companion mentioned it several times both to me and to the nurse on staff. When I called the ALF nurse about it, I felt like she blew me off and I was frustrated with that. However, dad seems to be doing fine anyway. I am glad his companions are there to give me information that I sometimes don’t get directly from the ALF staff!

I took some more relaxing beach walks this week. I was thinking about how one shouldn’t need a vacation after retirement. But I sure needed one, and this vacation is doing me a world of good. The snowstorm in the Northeast made me extra thankful that I was currently in the south. I still worry about my family but they seem to be doing fine.

I am so active here I may need another vacation when I get home! We have lots of activities here on almost every day of the week. In addition there are community activities such as the Mardi Gras parade and an arts fair on the main street. We also go to the library on a regular basis to keep up on our reading materials.

I might as well enjoy it while I can as I will be spending more time with dad when I get home. And of course, there are all my own doctor appointments that I put off until spring! Dad and I both have appointments in the first weeks after I get home.

I miss dad and my family but for now I am glad to be in a better climate. Soon I will be back home and in the middle of all the responsibilities I left behind. For now I will count my blessings and enjoy my vacation!

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Assisted Living Facility, Caregiving, Elder Care, Eldercare, respite, Vacation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Vacation for the Caregiver

  1. terry1954 says:

    yes definitely enjoy your time!!!!

  2. Kathy says:

    It’s cold up here. Enjoy the warmth and sunny days. 🙂

    • I know. I emjoy being warm here but miss some things from home. Still, I can’t deal with the long winter so I must stay as long as I can here. It is beautiful here, but I just wish I had some family here too.

  3. jmgoyder says:

    Wonderful – make the most of it!

Leave a Reply

