Dad and his Lady Friend


I received an email from one of dad’s companions. When she visited him, he was in the lounge sitting with Mary, his Lady Friend and they were holding hands.

He seemed happy and introduced his companion to Mary. Since the companion had been told about the rivalry between dad and the other man (See “Dad and A Lady Friend“), the companion spoke with the staff.

The staff told her that the other man was no longer living at that assisted living facility. He had seemed to be in good health, so I have no idea why he left. However, after the “incident” (in which dad almost came to blows with the other man), I was relieved to know that dad won’t have to worry about such issues in the future. (Or actually I won’t have to worry about it as dad never worries. He usually forgets about the things that might otherwise worry him.)

Mary has memory problems also and doesn’t remember who she walked with to a certain activity and often left with dad instead of the other man she had gone with. Now perhaps that won’t be a problem.

The staff told dad’s companion that dad seemed happy and was participating more in the activities. In fact, he had gone out to lunch in a local restaurant just the day before.

I have to admit that I am relieved to see things seem to be working out for dad and his lady friend at the assisted living facility.  He seems very happy now and that is the most important thing to me.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Assisted Living Facility, Caregiving, Companion, Companionship, Elder Care, Eldercare, Lady Friend, relationships and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dad and his Lady Friend

  1. terry1954 says:

    for every blockage removed, I breathe a little easier……………

  2. jmgoyder says:

    This is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

