Dad’s Companions Update Me


Dad’s companions continue to keep me up to date on his activities and he continues to do well. This week when they went he WAS wearing his shoes. That is he was wearing the same shoes he had refused to wear the week before. I still don’t know why he had refused to wear them, but at least there doesn’t seem to be a problem with the shoes now.

I will add that I discussed his shoes via email with the ALF manager and she never totally answered my question which was “Do his shoes hurt his feet or why won’t he wear them?” The answer I got was that he seemed to prefer his slippers. They did locate his shoes under his bed, but they had been in his closet when the companion tried to get him to wear them. So, the mystery seems unsolved, but at least dad is wearing his shoes some of the time.

This week when the first companion came to see him it was later in the day and dad was unwilling to go for a walk. (I am surprised she ever gets dad to walk as I have not been able to do that!) It soon was Happy Hour so she sat with dad in the lounge while he had his drink and they talked.

She had brought him his Pepsi and had straightened out his room. For some reason, even though the weekly cleaner does vacuum his room, she never just straightens things out or clean up the crumbs in the kitchen or dirty dishes in the sink. Mom always did that and for whatever reason, dad never cleans up after himself. Now this companion has taken on this task and asked if I mind. Surely, I don’t mind as long as it doesn’t bother her that she has added to her companion tasks with cleaning tasks!

Another of dad’s companions came to see dad just before dinner the next day. Dad was sitting with Mary, his Lady Friend. Nevertheless, he got right up to go out to eat. He ate a good meal with wine and a cannoli for dessert. The ALF staff had told her that dad has been eating only toast or bread lately unless they have an Italian meal planned.

Dad has always been a fussy eater, and mom always cooked what he liked. He had lost 2 pounds in the last month as of the February 1st weigh-in, so I hope these meals out have helped him gain it back again. He should get weighed again in the next week. His nurse companion usually keeps track of his weight and any health-related issues. I am so thankful to have found these 3 wonderful companions to watch over dad while I am out-of-town!

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Assisted Living Facility, Caregiving, Companion, Dementia, Elder Care, Eldercare and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dad’s Companions Update Me

  1. terry1954 says:

    You have been very lucky to have them remain all this time

Leave a Reply

