Continuing to Care for Dad from a Distance


I haven’t written much lately. I continue to have problems with the laptop and my Word program which takes away much of my incentive to sit down and write.

It is fairly cold out this morning so I am going to try to focus on my blog. When the weather is too nice I find it impossible to stay inside and blog. I just want to be outside in the sunshine. The last few days, however, it has been quite cool though it should start warming up again now.

Dad continues to do well. He is still usually in the lounge when I try to reach him. I called several times this week and finally got someone to bring him a cordless phone to talk to me. Still he rushed me through the call as if he had something important he wanted to do. Maybe it was my imagination, but I felt like his “Lady Friend” were with him and he just wanted to focus on her.

Don’t get me wrong. I am glad he has companionship while living in congregate living now that mom is gone. I would like a chance to talk to him however, though I know he hasn’t been good at phone conversation for quite awhile.

What I was able to glean was that he is well and happy, has everything he needs, and that I should have a good time and talk to him next week. He did ask again where I am, as he usually does, but this year he doesn’t seem to be in such a hurry for me to come back.

One of dad’s companions mentioned to him this week that she volunteers in a thrift store during the spring and summer. Dad was excited about that and told her he loves thrift stores, which is no exaggeration! She will get back to me when they open in the spring and let me know the directions to take dad there.

Dad’s other companion took him out to eat this week as she often does. He ordered his lunch and cannoli for dessert and was able to eat the cannoli but the lunch was too much for him ;). He has a better appetite for those things he loves most! I am just thankful he is eating something as he frequently just picks at his meals.

It doesn’t really help though for the companion to bring home his lunch and put it in his refrigerator. He doesn’t eat leftovers and he gets all his meals in the dining room. So sooner or later, it will have to be thrown out.

I was told he doesn’t eat much breakfast lately though he has been doing better at lunch or dinner. Nevertheless, he had lost 2 pounds during January, and I haven’t heard yet if he gained it back during February. I hope so as older people do better if they don’t get too thin.

I am starting to think ahead to next month when I will be home again. Dad has a medical appointment so I called his ALF nurse to be sure they are prepared to have his lab work done ahead of time. She does have it noted, though maybe didn’t until I reminded her. Anyway, that lab work will have to be done before I return. I can take him to his appointment myself.

Thankfully, dad’s life and my own have become fairly routine lately. Luckily everything is going along as planned. Hopefully this will continue at least until I am home and near enough to take care of any problems. I had worried about being away more than just a couple of weeks, but it seems to have worked out again as I had planned.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Assisted Living Facility, Caregiving, Companion, Dementia, Elder Care, Eldercare and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Continuing to Care for Dad from a Distance

  1. terry1954 says:

    He will be so happy once he sees you on a regular basis again

  2. boomer98053 says:

    Sometimes routine can be a real blessing.

Leave a Reply

