I’m Back and Behind Again


I’m sure many of you are wondering if I dropped off the face of the earth.  I have been thinking about you all but somehow couldn’t get to writing my blog.

I will pick up where I was still in the south.  Dad’s companions sent me weekly updates about his condition and activities.

The last note I got from one of the companions told me about playing checkers with dad.  He lost and told his caregiver that he had let her win.

He said he had something to tell her, but the next thing she knew, a woman was standing in front of her.  The woman (Mary — as you may know her from previous posts) asked his companion who she was.  Dad told her the companion was my (his daughter’s) friend.  Companion asked woman who she was.  She said “Mary, [dad’s name]’s close friend”.

Mary told the companion that she didn’t need to come and take care of dad.  She said she (Mary) would take care of dad as that was HER job!  Dad was quite happy with that!

(What dad was going to tell her was about Mary and how they were now close friends.)

Now this email from dad’s companion made me laugh as this was the second companion that Mary had approached and told she didn’t need to come.  The companions work together at other places and laughed at how Mary was protecting dad from his companions.

Honestly, I had mixed feelings about Mary and I will tell more about how that turned out to be a hint of things to come.

I also want to post soon about the Very Inspiring Blogger nomination that I got from Kate Swaffer from “Creating Life With Words” a few weeks ago.  Unfortunately I have been too busy to respond to that too.  However, soon I hope to catch up.  Soon….  🙂

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Caregiving, Companion, Dementia, Elder Care, Eldercare, Lady Friend, relationships and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

