Best Moment and WordPress Family Awards


best-moment-award

First I apologize for being too busy to blog recently.  I have a lot to write about but few free moments to write.  I do not want to wait any longer though to acknowledge two awards I recently received.

I have been awarded the Best Moment Award by Tersiaburger at http://tersiaburger.com/2013/05/04/best-moment-award-2/ .   I want to thank Tersia for this nomination and to tell you how much I have been riveted to her blog.  She is a mother and grandmother and cared for her daughter Vicky over many years through many trials and tribulations because Vicki was born with Osteogenesis Imperfecta which is a lifelong painful and debilitating disease.  Recently Vicky passed away from the effects of this disease after a long and painful journey.  Tersia has written beautifully about her love for her daughter and grandsons and her efforts to comfort and support Vicky through this journey.  Please click over and check out Tersia’s blog.  You will find it compelling.

RULES for the Best Moment Award:

1. Winners re-post this completely, with their acceptance speech. That could be written down or video recorded.

2. Winners have the privilege of awarding the next awardees! The re-post should include a NEW list of people, blogs worthy of the award, and winners notify them the great news.

What makes a good acceptance speech?

Gratitude. Thank the people who helped you along the way.

Humour-Keep us entertained and smiling.

Inspiration – Make your story touch our lives.

Get an idea from the great acceptance speech, compiled in MomentMatters.com/speech

Display the award’s badge on your blog/website, downloadable in MomentMatters.com/Award

My acceptance speech:

This will be short and sweet as I am not a great one for speeches.  I am honored to receive this award as I have shared much of my life on my blog with many of you over the past year and a half.  I receive a lot of helpful support from my readers and this support helps me in my efforts in caring for dad.  We are at a good place right now in that dad is healthier than he was a year ago and his sense of humor is intact.  I am able to spend fewer days visiting him as I continue to spend a lot of time on other tasks such as financial, shopping, etc.

I love my dad and am glad to be able to be with him as he is in his mid-90’s now.  I always planned to spend more time with mom and dad after I retired, and was devastated at the loss of my mother over two years ago.  Ever since mom died I have questioned my actions in caring for dad.  My readers have offered suggestions and support that helped me feel more confident in the path that I am taking.  For that I am thankful to all of you.

At this time, I would like to nominate five more bloggers, reminding you that I also recommend 10 additional bloggers in my discussion of the WordPress Family Award (below).

The Nominees for the Best Moment Award are:

Margo at Married to Alzheimer’s  (http://marriedtoalzheimers.com/) has a husband with Alzheimer’s disease.

Sharechair at  http://sharechair.wordpress.com/  keeps us up-to-date on new technology.  She writes about iPads, iPhones, and eReaders and has so many useful tips.

Day By Day With The Big Terrible A (Alzheimer’s…)  http://daybydaywiththebigterriblea.wordpress.com/  whose husband also has Alzheimer’s disease.

Laura who cared for her grandfather, George, who had Alzheimer’s disease and was over 100 years old.  He recently passed away and now she is coping with her grief and adjusting to her new life without him.  Check out: “Not Housebound” at  http://nothousebound.wordpress.com/

Irene at “Baby Boomers and More” writes about caregiving also and injects some humor every Monday with her “light” posts.  I have been following this blog for long time and recommend you check it out. http://babyboomersandmore.com/

wordpress-family-award

And Thank You to “Life on Wry” for nominating me for the WordPress Family Award http://lifeonwry.com/2013/05/07/feeling-lucky/ .

I am honored to have received the WordPress family award from Life on Wry and I encourage you to go over and check out her blogs. She is a mother of teenage boys and a freelance writer and she is also caring for her dying mother who has Alzheimer’s disease.  I relate very much to her posts, and I believe you will also.

I am not going to go into all the details about the WordPress Family Award since I was also nominated for this award by Terry of Terry1954 on April 24th.  I refer you all also to the 10 great bloggers that I nominated at that time and suggest you wander over there and check out those blogs also.  We have so many fine bloggers on WordPress that it is hard to keep up with all of them.  However, do look for yourself and see if there are some you want to follow or check out from time to time.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Awards, Caregiving, Elder Care, Eldercare and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Best Moment and WordPress Family Awards

  1. Terry says:

    congratulations!!

  2. tersiaburger says:

    Well deserved. Thank you for your kind words. xxx

  3. Kate Swaffer says:

    Congratulations! Well deserved. x

  4. Sheryl says:

    Congratulations! Your blog is wonderful and you deserve the award.

  5. jlsm697 says:

    Congrats!! Well deserved!
    Jodi

  6. Kathy says:

    Congrats! I love following your blog.

Leave a Reply

