Another Sunday Visit with Dad


Sunday Visit

I was puttering about the house yesterday morning, making pretty good progress when all of a sudden I realized it was Sunday and time for my regular Sunday visit with dad.  I knew dad wouldn’t miss me right away, but I always meet my son and grandson at dad’s on Sunday mornings.  I closed up my computer and packed up my car with the snacks I usually bring for dad.

When I arrived at his ALF, I was surprised that dad was not sitting out in the lounge where I usually find him.  I proceeded to his room and knocked on the door while opening it.  I was only a little surprised to find Mary, his lady friend, sitting in the chair where I usually sit, and dad in the other.  I said hello and walked in.

Mary got up to give me the seat and said she would see dad later.  I was only surprised because I had been told that Mary’s family did not want her in any other resident’s rooms.  I didn’t feel it was up to me to enforce their wishes, but on the other hand, once my son and grandson arrived the room would be quite crowded, so I was relieved when Mary left.

I put away dad’s snacks and said hello.  As I was starting a conversation, I could hear my grandson coming down the hall.  He talks with the aides who all enjoy seeing him.  Then son and grandson came into the room, and grandson climbed into the chair with me.  He wanted to play videos on my iPad.

I pulled out the iPad and let my grandson navigate around to the games he wanted to play.  He has learned to open games like checkers, Talking Tom, and some others.  He sat there changing the settings on all my games and telling me about shopping at the bookstore yesterday.

I told dad that one of his Companions had sent me an email.  She plans to visit dad this week and bring him something for Father’s Day.  I think that is so sweet.  It is nice to see the bond that has formed between dad and his companions.

My son asked dad if he had seen my brother this past week.  Dad said no.  I reminded dad that yes, my brother had been to visit this week and took him out to lunch.  Dad did remember where they went to lunch (his favorite restaurant).

When it was lunch time, my son and grandson left first while dad went to the bathroom.  When dad was ready he put on his jacket.  I reminded him he didn’t need a jacket as we were just walking to the dining room.  Dad was confused about whether to bring his walker.  I said yes, bring the walker.

All in all it was a nice visit, but I get a bit disconcerted when dad gets confused.  It serves to remind me that dad still has Alzheimer’s disease, even though he often seems to function well on a day by day basis.  He still knows who I am and my son and grandson as well. That helps me relax about dad’s health for awhile more, but I still hate any reminder that dad’s memory is failing!

Still, I am thankful that dad seems to enjoy each day, and that I get to spend this time with him.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Assisted Living Facility, Caregiving, Dementia, Elder Care, Eldercare, Family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another Sunday Visit with Dad

  1. Terry says:

    even worst than death my nightmare is if Al ever forgets who I am

  2. jmgoyder says:

    I’m kind of ready for it, but not!

Leave a Reply

