A Visit with Dad


Sunday when I went to visit dad, I found him on the sofa with his lady friend sleeping across his lap and another lady on his right. I stopped for a moment and showed him the snacks I had brought for him. I told him I would put them in his room and then return.

When I got back to the lounge, dad’s lady friend was sitting up and dad greeted me. I brought a chair over to sit in front of dad so he could see my face when I talk to him. He doesn’t hear as well if he can’t see my lips when I talk. As we started to talk, he suggested we move over to the empty loveseat across the room.

Dad and I were just getting settled on the loveseat when my son and grandson came in. They came over to us and my son pulled up a chair. My grandson asked for my iPad and started to open his favorite games. I put my grandson on my lap so dad could watch the iPad screen while my grandson played.

My grandson is only 3 and doesn’t really understand how to play some of the games. But he always opens them anyway and hits things until something happens. He started with checkers and tried to move his pieces across to squares that were not in the right place. The game automatically puts the checker back in the starting place and shows arrows to indicate where the checker can go. Since grandson doesn’t really understand it yet, he soon gives up on that one and moves on to solitaire.

Grandson can’t really do solitaire either but loves to move the cards and if I tell him to put the red three on the black 4, he can follow that. Then when he runs out of obvious moves he goes to the options and changes the background, the backs of the cards, the faces of the cards, etc. (I always have to reset my options when I get home.)

Dad likes to watch as my grandson plays. Then grandson opened Talking Tom and started to jabber really loudly to Talking Tom. Talking tom repeats whatever my grandson says. It gets really noisy when he opens the virtual iPad that Talking Tom has. Then as my grandson shouts song lyrics, Talking Tom repeats them and the tiny Talking Tom on Tom’s virtual iPad repeats and it gets noisier and noisier. My grandson laughs, and dad laughs and soon the ladies in the lounge and the staff are watching and laughing too.

My grandson also opened the Photo Booth app on the iPad. He loves to look at himself in the various modes like multicolor and mirror images. He snaps a million pictures of himself (which I will delete later). Dad watches and gets into some of the pictures himself.

Dad says a few sentences to my grandson but mostly he just laughs and enjoys watching him play. Soon dad was getting hungry and the dining room opened for lunch. My son and grandson left first and then dad and I got up. Dad has to struggle sometimes to get up from the too soft loveseat or sofa but he got up by pulling on his walker. His lady friend joined him and they went to lunch.

I kissed him goodbye and told him I would see him on Tuesday. “What day is it today?” Dad asked and I told him it was Sunday. I left just as it was starting to rain again. I will see dad again tomorrow.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Assisted Living Facility, Caregiving, Elder Care, Eldercare, great-grandson, Lady Friend and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Visit with Dad

  1. Terry says:

    when Al was in the nursing home I would always see the resident’s eyes light up when kids entered. I am glad there was a lot of laughter!

  2. boomer98053 says:

    All and all, sounds like a very successful visit! How wonderful that your grandson gets this positive introduction to the elder generation.

Leave a Reply

