Dad is Doing Better This Week


Last week I was not able to take dad out to lunch.  I went to pick him up on our usual day.  He was sitting in the lounge but he looked like he was recovering from 2 black eyes.  He said he was dizzy and did not want to get up or walk anyplace.  I was told that the medication for his eye infection could cause both the swelling of his eyes and also his dizziness.  We put off our lunch out for another week.

Thankfully the next time I saw him, dad was doing much better.  He didn’t remember that he had been so dizzy and his eyes were back to normal.  He had completed the use of the eye medication and was essentially back to normal.

My three-year-old grandson did not join my son and me when we visited dad this past weekend.  As he gets older my grandson becomes a bit more independent and thus he decided he wanted to stay home.  About halfway through our visit my son got a phone call from my grandson (with some help from his mom)  He wanted my son to pick him up so he could visit with grandpa grandpa (his name for his great-grandfather).

On further conversation it turned out that my grandson had been acting up and just came out of time out.  I guess he wanted to escape and visit grandpa grandpa.  My son said it was too late for this week as grandpa would be going to lunch soon, but they can visit again next weekend.

Dad was pretty quiet for that visit, but not that much more than usual.  Dad doesn’t tend to get very chatty.  I had walked in with 2 grocery bags – one with Pepsi and cheese for dad and the other had dad’s Depends.  Dad asked what I brought and I told him.

“I am taking it to your room and will put it in the refrigerator”, I said.  “Don’t put the Depends in the refrigerator”, responded my dad.  I know he still has his sense of humor!

When I visited a couple of days ago, dad was sitting outside on the front porch with his lady friend.  This is the first time I have seen dad outside in over 2 years.  He usually prefers to stay inside in the lounge.  I suspect his lady friend convinced him to go out since the weather was so beautiful.  It had cooled off considerably since the heat wave and most of the chairs on the porch were occupied.

I sat next to dad for awhile and we talked.  Or rather, I asked questions about the past and he answered them.  Then he decided that the wicker loveseat he was sitting on was too hard on his butt and he had to go inside.  We both stood up and went inside.  His lady friend was clearly not happy about that, but she didn’t say anything.

I sat inside with dad until it was time for him to go to lunch.  I told him I will take him out to lunch this week to the fish restaurant he liked.  I hope he is feeling well enough when I get there tomorrow.

Basically dad’s health and behavior are stable for the time being.  The weatherman predicts beautiful weather tomorrow so it should be a nice day to go out. I phoned to confirm that the restaurant we want to go to has reopened after their 2-week vacation closure.  They have, so that should work out well.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Assisted Living Facility, Caregiving, Dementia, Elder Care, Eldercare and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dad is Doing Better This Week

  1. boomer98053 says:

    I’m glad that you and your dad get to go to his favorite restaurant again! (They’d better be open when you get there!)

    • Thanks, I expect they will as I spoke to someone there tonight. He likes this one for fish or shrimp and the other for his Italian cravings. Both are easy to get to, so are equally good for me also.

  2. SwittersB says:

    How old is the lady friend? Does her impatience or mood visibly influence your Dad? Isn’t it an awkward moment in life to fill time with something? Conversation, be it questions/answers or ‘normal’ conversation is can be so exhausting. Where is your mind now? After all the assessing where your place is in his life?

  3. SwittersB says:

    Wow…that reads as tired as I feel 🙂

    • Actually, I don’t know how to respond. I don’t know how old the lady friend is, but probably younger than dad but she has memory problems too so doesn’t even remember how old she is. I don’t think there is much conversation between them as much as just hand holding as he never was much of a talker and he doesn’t hear well. I don’t know if her impatience bothers him as I suspect he forgets it moments later if he noticed it at all. He doesn’t really pick up on social cues. He does like to have her near because she helps pass the time and makes him feel good.

  4. kimjoy24 says:

    “Don’t put the Depends in the refrigerator” Love it!

Leave a Reply

