Very Inspiring Blogger Award — Thank You!


Yesterday I was honored to receive a nomination for the “Very Inspiring Blogger Award” from Ginkgoguy. First I want to tell you about his inspiring blog — “Not Forgotten” as I have been following his posts for quite awhile now.  While I believe he is quite a bit younger than I am,  we share the duty and honor of caring for parents with Alzheimer’s disease.  His sense of humor helps to make this difficult subject easier to read about.  We caregivers share a common bond in understanding a difficult disease, even though it manifests itself differently in every individual.

Very Insp Blog pix 8-9-14

Fellow bloggers who write about family members with Alzheimer’s disease and other dementias constitute a worldwide community.  We may live in any country but we share the stress and sense of community that this disease brings.  I have always found it helpful to read the accounts of other caregivers and to see their responses on my own blog as I continue to care for my father.

Thank you, Ginkgoguy! Please check out Ginkgoguy’s blog –“Not Forgotten”  and see why I have continued to be a follower.

The “Very Inspiring Blogger Award” is meant to be paid forward – giving homage to those bloggers who we follow for inspiration.

Here are the rules:

1) Thank and link to the amazing person who nominated you.

2) List the rules and display the award.

3) Share seven facts about yourself.

4) Nominate 15 other amazing blogs, commenting on their posts to let them know about their nominations.

5) Proudly display the award logo on your blog, and follow the blogger who nominated you.

So seven known facts about myself:

  1. As a mother, grandmother, daughter and caregiver for my parents, family has always been very important to me.
  2. While I retired from my job over 5 years ago, I still can’t seem to find enough time to do even half the things I want to do.
  3. I have always wanted to write, but never saw myself as a writer! It was just something I did “on the side”.
  4. I began my caregiving journey almost ten years ago as my mother began to have serious health problems. While I was still employed at that time, and thousands of miles away, I began with telephone calls and frequent visits to help link mom to elder services.
  5. I love being outdoors and have a hard time working inside at my desktop computer when the sun is shining through my window.
  6. In the Fall when the leaves are changing and the children are heading off to school, I always wish I were going with them!
  7. It is harder than I thought to come up with seven things about myself!

These are my nominations for my favorite bloggers:

The Estate Lady  gives compassionate advice for dealing with a lifetime accumulation of stuff.  She gives practical advice on what to keep and how to deal with the rest and move on.

The Lemon Bar Queen  is written by Jodi Melsness, a wife, mother, nurse, teacher/educator, advocate and caregiver for her mother who has Alzheimer’s.

Cape Cod Caregiver  is written by Lorraine Martha Goyette, a former teacher who gives day-to-day care to her mother.  She blogs about examining the realities of at-home lay team eldercare.

jmgoyder: wings and things  is written by Julie who is a primary caregiver for her husband Anthony who has advanced Parkinson’s disease and prostate cancer.  While he is in a nursing home, she spends a good part of each day there with him, sharing their time and love together.

Comic Cuts is one of the blogs I read to lighten my life.  Each post is a short silly cartoon.

Sharechair writes about everyday technology for everyday folks.  She blogs about tips and tricks for using your iPhone, iPad and eReaders.  She has tips for new and experienced users and also suggests free and inexpensive games that might interest the reader.  Again, I enjoy this blog to take me away from the daily stress of eldercare.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Alzheimer's Disease, Awards, Caregiving, Dementia, Eldercare and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Very Inspiring Blogger Award — Thank You!

  1. ginkgoguy says:

    You absolutely deserve the nomination, Lori. I draw both inspiration and solace from reading your own caregiving accounts. Thank you!

  2. Terry says:

    Congratulations!

  3. Johne428 says:

    Thanks again for the blog post.Thanks Again. Cool. kbfcebedeebd

  4. Congratulations! As I mentioned to ginkgo guy, when I first started writing, I purposefully did not look at any other blog, books etc for fear of “lifting” other people’s ideas. But two years into my effort, I feel more confident in my “voice” and telling our story of my mom’s decade with dementia. And now I find the accounts by you and others is further broadening my understanding as I ponder the past. I look forward to reading your words and the posts by others you’ve mentioned here. All my best, Hallie from A Swift Current

  5. Maryam says:

    Congratulations, well deserved.

  6. Kathy says:

    Congratulations. I always love your posts!

Leave a Reply

